What Do You Think Of My Stairs So Far? - Building & Construction - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Building & Construction

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 09-23-2009, 11:27 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 10

What do you think of my stairs so far?

I'm a DIY'er. First flight of stairs for me. Actually I dont really do a lot of DIY construction because this is my first time owning a house. I actually posted her a bit ago asking about building some stairs. Well,... here it is! I only have the one pic right now. But I can get some more.

What you see is only the sub-stairs. I'm going to install hardwood to the tread and risers. Skirtboards too. Im in the process of building walls right now. Wont be ready for hardwood on the staris until Im putting in hardwood floors upstairs.

I built the whole thing as a unit in my garage and then hoisted it up and nailed/ screwed it in. I first figured everything out with a 3D drawing on my computer. I just followed my plans and it fit right in with no real problems. The treads have zero slope. everything is straight and true. perfect.
Attached Thumbnails
What do you think of my stairs so far?-0923092006a-2-.jpg  
cvriv.charles is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 09-23-2009, 11:43 PM   #2

Rewards Points: 526

I would ask the local Building Department for a variance. Code requires max. riser height 7-3/4", including the bottom one after the hardwood to concrete. 10" minimum tread depth. A 3' deep landing at the bottom from last step's nosing to drywall. Three stringers are not required, but recommended. I realize the confined area for them already existed, hence the variance.
Be safe, Gary
Gary in WA is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 09-24-2009, 12:38 AM   #3