Want To Add A "Room"... But AC Trouble - Building & Construction - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Building & Construction

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Old 07-30-2019, 08:11 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 59
Rewards Points: 96
Default

Want to add a "Room"... but AC trouble


So here's the situation.
I'm a small time landlord who rents a building that has a couple efficiency apartments.
They are nice, but really quite small. In fact, so small that I have difficulty finding renters, and a lot of times they end up leaving for something with more space.

Now one of the apartments however, has something that might pose a solution, but I can't quite figure out what to do.
It has an attached covered porch, and an access door to it (see picture, "D")

The apartment just has one big room, "A", a hallway with the door to the porch "B", and a small back bedroom, "C".
I'd like to do something with the porch, make it into a bit more of a liveable/usable space, but funds are limited.
I can put a rain proof ceiling in by screwing in Tuf Rib panels sloping downward, attached to the rafters, away from the house easy enough.
And, probably without too much trouble, put some walls in and kind of enclose or screen the deck area, even put a door in front. To make a sort of three season room, or maybe just a storage shed.

But what to do about the air conditioner?
The apartment is wired 20 amp to plug an AC unit in the hallway window (B), which is in the center of the apartment, which blows out onto the deck.

What I'm worried about is, if I start enclosing the deck, if the moist exhaust from the AC unit will get trapped in the outside "room".
For instance, if a roof is put in sloping down away from the house, will the moist air rise and get trapped? Or am I overthinking this.

I feel that due to the layout of the apartment, putting the AC unit in say the bedroom (C) or large room (A) is not going to be in the center of the unit and may not work so well, its seems it has to go in that window (B).

Am I making sense. What does anyone recommend insofar as what to do with this porch area, and what is the right way to do it. Again I don't have a lot of money, but I'd like to do something to give renters some more room in this tiny apartment. At the very least, a dry area they can store things that has you know, some enclosure so the stuff can't be stolen.
Any ideas... thanks.
Attached Thumbnails
Want to add a "Room"... but AC trouble-conundrum.png  

Last edited by jeffpas; 07-30-2019 at 08:17 PM.
jeffpas is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-31-2019, 09:34 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Washington, DC area
Posts: 2,781
Rewards Points: 2,224
Default

Re: Want to add a "Room"... but AC trouble


What is above the porch ceiling?
huesmann is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-31-2019, 06:56 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 59
Rewards Points: 96
Default

Re: Want to add a "Room"... but AC trouble


An outdoor deck. There is an upstairs apartment
jeffpas is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 08-11-2019, 01:01 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 59
Rewards Points: 96
Default

Re: Want to add a "Room"... but AC trouble


admin please delete this post its obviously DOA, lol thanks
I wish we had the ability to edit our own stuff.
jeffpas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2019, 02:30 AM   #5
Hammered Thumb
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Location: SuburbanIL
Posts: 1,611
Rewards Points: 986
Default

Re: Want to add a "Room"... but AC trouble


I saw this initially, but didn't join in because I have no solution. You kinda answered yourself in the post anyway. Can't move the A/C, can't exhaust into a closed room. Can't really enclose this area with walls as the Assessor might re-evaluate that, and the Building Dept. may want something more permanent. Besides, any tenants I've ever had needs space for boxes and tiny crap (few use bins) that they don't want outside or a chance at exposure through leaks or insects/vermin. Solution for unmarketable is lower rent.
3onthetree is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2019, 02:41 AM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Upper mid-west
Posts: 2,988
Rewards Points: 4,464
Default

Re: Want to add a "Room"... but AC trouble


Posts don't get deleted regardless of whether the questions are answered.
stick\shift is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Top of Page | View New Posts