Top Top Plate - Building & Construction - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Building & Construction

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By jlhaslip
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Old 06-19-2016, 09:42 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: far sw sub chicago
Posts: 6,668
Rewards Points: 996
Default

top top plate


stud wall is built. how many and how should i nail on the top top plate ?

thanx
Fix'n it is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-19-2016, 10:30 PM   #2
JUSTA MEMBER
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Central Wyoming
Posts: 12,713
Rewards Points: 392
Default

Re: top top plate


To prevent the shed from twisting, at least one across the joints between the sides and front/back.

You need to cover the seam between them at least once with an upper plate, and then depending on what you plan for a roof, maybe another with the pitch built in to allow rain runoff.

These are integrated with the sheathing and siding as a unit to strengthen the walls.


ED

Editing: I personally screw everything together, nails tend to pull out over time.

Last edited by de-nagorg; 06-19-2016 at 10:33 PM. Reason: Adding edit.
de-nagorg is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-19-2016, 10:35 PM   #3
Member
 
jlhaslip's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Edmonton, Alberta
Posts: 5,975
Rewards Points: 708
Default

Re: top top plate


Overlap the corners as pointed out above.
I set two nails at each stud and try not to nail between studs in case the Electrician and /or the Plumbers need to drill holes between studs.
For a shed, this is not as large of a concern.
de-nagorg likes this.
__________________
Quote:
Short of cutting off a body part, the worst that can happen in woodworking is manufacturing really nice looking kindling. --- Quoted from lenaitch
jlhaslip is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-19-2016, 10:52 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: far sw sub chicago
Posts: 6,668
Rewards Points: 996
Default

Re: top top plate


the corners are overlaped ( i have built only the back and 1 side wall yet)
like this pic.
https://jamesawatt.files.wordpress.c...-016.jpg?w=529
Fix'n it is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2016, 10:56 PM   #5
JUSTA MEMBER
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Central Wyoming
Posts: 12,713
Rewards Points: 392
Default

Re: top top plate


Build all 4 corners like that and you have plenty to start adding a rafter set.

That will be great.


ED
de-nagorg is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to de-nagorg For This Useful Post:
Fix'n it (06-19-2016)
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Building a 2nd shed adjacent to existing... iThinman Building & Construction 60 12-10-2015 10:52 AM
Should I insulate my sill plate? LVDIY Insulation 5 11-14-2015 06:44 PM
Sill plate attachment to foundation WillK Building & Construction 3 10-12-2015 02:28 PM
Riello 40 Series, Air Adjustment Plate RCrosby257 HVAC 1 06-22-2015 05:31 AM
JAcking up floor to replace bottom wall plate. tpicklesimer Flooring 0 05-24-2011 08:08 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts