Replacing Rafters On Ridge Beam Barn - Building & Construction - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Building & Construction

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Old 07-21-2014, 04:10 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 6
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Replacing rafters on ridge beam barn


I have a 32' x 40' old pole building. I'm replacing the top half. I need a 24' rafter to reach outside walls to ridge beam.
I was going to laminate 4 -12' x2"x6" using adhesive and screws every 6". Will this be sturdy enough? 4/12 pitch
Get nailed is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-21-2014, 04:39 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 10,810
Rewards Points: 2,620
Default


Since you only need one rafter it will probably work. But before you choose an adhesive do a shear test with an adhesive and glue to determine which you would consider the strongest.
SeniorSitizen is online now   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-21-2014, 04:44 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 6
Rewards Points: 10
Default


What if I need to replace all of them. 40 to ne exact.
Get nailed is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-21-2014, 04:52 PM   #4
Exterior Construction
 
Windows on Wash's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Washington DC Metro Area (VA, MD, DC)
Posts: 21,505
Rewards Points: 6,712
Blog Entries: 40
Default


This is definitely a questions for a qualified engineer.
Windows on Wash is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2014, 05:06 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 10,810
Rewards Points: 2,620
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by Get nailed View Post
What if I need to replace all of them. 40 to ne exact.
I don't know why you would need 40 but if going that route definitely buy truss rafters.
SeniorSitizen is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2014, 05:10 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 6
Rewards Points: 10
Default


20 each side. I contacted an engineer to see . Thanks for the help.
Get nailed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2014, 06:32 PM   #7
Framing Contractor
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 1,302
Rewards Points: 76
Default


That is not gonna work. No engineer will even consider that. Consider using pre made roof trusses. You could even gain a loft by using attic trusses.
sixeightten is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2014, 06:19 AM   #8
Pro Slate Roofer
 
tinner666's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Richmond, Va.
Posts: 1,622
Rewards Points: 1,060
Default


Single 2x8's will span that.
tinner666 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2014, 11:19 AM   #9
A "Handy Husband"
 
rjniles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Carolina Low Country
Posts: 10,242
Rewards Points: 96
Default


Your rafters are not 24 feet long, spanning 16 feet with 4/12 pitch is only about 17 feet.
__________________
My electrical answers are based on 2014 NEC, you may have local amendments.

Location: Coastal South Carolina
rjniles is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2014, 11:22 AM   #10
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 6
Rewards Points: 10
Default


I'm allowing for a 2-1/2 foot over hang.
Get nailed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2014, 11:26 AM   #11
A "Handy Husband"
 
rjniles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Carolina Low Country
Posts: 10,242
Rewards Points: 96
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by Get nailed View Post
I'm allowing for a 2-1/2 foot over hang.
That is still under 20 feet
__________________
My electrical answers are based on 2014 NEC, you may have local amendments.

Location: Coastal South Carolina
rjniles is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2014, 11:37 AM   #12
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 6
Rewards Points: 10
Default


I was just allowing for cuts and defects in the wood. Suchs as splits ,knots,
I spoke to a local lumber yard that make trusses and rafters. After explaining to them my problem they suggested using 1-16' with 2 -12' 2x6's usiing cross bracing as well as steel plates at seams.
Get nailed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2014, 11:49 AM   #13
A "Handy Husband"
 
rjniles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Carolina Low Country
Posts: 10,242
Rewards Points: 96
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by Get nailed View Post
I was just allowing for cuts and defects in the wood. Suchs as splits ,knots,
I spoke to a local lumber yard that make trusses and rafters. After explaining to them my problem they suggested using 1-16' with 2 -12' 2x6's usiing cross bracing as well as steel plates at seams.
I would talk to them about using trusses. You building inspector may want an engineer to approve the use of regular rafters with splices.
__________________
My electrical answers are based on 2014 NEC, you may have local amendments.

Location: Coastal South Carolina
rjniles is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2014, 12:06 PM   #14
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 10,810
Rewards Points: 2,620
Default


I suspect the roof failed because of this type of construction. Consider 10 trusses on 4 ft. centers with a steel roof.
SeniorSitizen is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2014, 12:07 PM   #15
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 6
Rewards Points: 10
Default


Well this is Wv and no inspections just permits required.
They feel as long as the splice isn't in or near center it should be ok. I will try to contact a nuilding engineer before I do anything.
This project is a 50 plus year old stone foundation with a 4x10 chestnut ridge beam. There were 4x6 pine rafters every 4 ft. I want to place them 2 ft on ceenter.
Get nailed is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ridgevent solution for a wide ridge beam daveskee Roofing/Siding 12 12-02-2010 10:13 AM
Ridge Beam mikec205 Building & Construction 4 10-16-2010 04:37 PM
gap between ridge beam and ridge board mdudu Building & Construction 6 05-07-2010 09:46 PM
Shingling over ridge vent -details needed jogr Roofing/Siding 4 11-06-2009 06:47 PM
ridge beam rakuz66 Building & Construction 8 07-29-2008 01:01 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts