Please Help Me Fix This Problem - Building & Construction - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Building & Construction

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 07-01-2009, 10:08 AM   #1

Rewards Points: 10

Please Help Me Fix This Problem

My electric wire was anchored to a 2x4 now it's pulled from my roof. The electric co. says I have to put it back first. The 2x4 was nailed underneath the soffit. Can I nail a 2x4 back up without removing the soffit first?

It looks like everything will pop back into place. I have no experience with this whatsoever. I know I have to buy a new piece of wood & nails. It looks like 3 inch nails were used. Can I just hammer these back in? Do I need any special tools to get the nails in. Am I nailing into concrete or wood? The electric co. will replace the circle piece where the wire is attached to the 2x4.

Any suggestions will be very much appreciated!

eta. the electric co says it's okay to fix this issue without being electricuted as long as i don't cut the wire. which i won't be doing!
http://img526.imageshack.us/img526/8620/imgp0232m.jpg
Attached Images

HandyMandy is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 07-01-2009, 10:19 AM   #2
I have gas!

Rewards Points: 2,040

That's a cheesy way to hang the cable and it will look bad.
I think I would hire an electrician to either hang it properly or replace the entire cable and add conduit.

Last edited by Clutchcargo; 07-01-2009 at 10:24 AM.
Clutchcargo is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 07-01-2009, 12:01 PM   #3

Rewards Points: 10

I agree ClutchCargo. That's how most of the cables are hung in my neighborhood. I have no idea why they hung it that way
HandyMandy is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 07-01-2009, 12:08 PM   #4

Rewards Points: 2,000