Non-Kitchen Quartz Countertop Installation Ideas - Building & Construction - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Building & Construction

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 11-26-2017, 12:13 AM   #1

Rewards Points: 2

Non-Kitchen Quartz Countertop Installation Ideas

Newbie here. I have a question for some experienced DIY'ers.

I am putting together a game room countertop. It will be in the middle of the room so no wall studs to tie into. The quartz countertop will be 9.5 feet long and 25.5 inches deep at 3cm thickness. On either end of the countertop I would like to use two wall cabinets facing to the outside meaning the doors will open to the outside for a little bit of storage.....they are 24" wide (which will cover the depth of the countertop leaving a little overhang) and 12" deep and 30" tall. Because I want the countertop to be at stool height around 34" and I want it to be supported across the middle here is my plan:

I will run a pair of 2 x 4's spanning the distance between cabinets (7.5 feet once you subtract the 12" cabinets on each end). One will be in the rear of the counter and one will be closer to the front probably 12" from the front. The countertop will weigh about 300 pounds. I will secure the cabinets to the floor of course.