Microhood Over Gas Range - Building & Construction - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Building & Construction

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Display Modes
Old 06-11-2009, 06:44 PM   #1
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Question

Microhood over gas range


I've done a complete kitchen remodel and am installing appliances with the last one being the new gas range, having switched from electric. The installation instructions call for a minimum 30 inches between stove top and venthood. I have a microhood instead at the standard height above stove of 17 inches. Will this take the heat or am I going to have a micro-meltdown or risk setting my house on fire?
glennintexas is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-11-2009, 07:05 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Baltimore, MD
Posts: 1,802
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default


Are you sure they don't want 30" from the stove to the bottom of the cabinet?
jerryh3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-11-2009, 07:08 PM   #3
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Default


The instructions say "30 inches to the vent hood." That sounds really high and implies a microhood won't work as you wouldn't be able to use the microhood if the bottom was at 66 inches.

Does anyone have experience with using a microhood over a gas range with only 17 inches between?
glennintexas is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-11-2009, 08:43 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 235
Rewards Points: 162
Default


I think mine is about 18" over the range and I don't have any issues. On our unit, the exhaust fan will automatically kick on if it gets to hot - ie about 30 minutes into the self clean cycle on the oven. It's been going 4+ years with no issue.
__________________
Some advice you receive on the internet can be worth exactly what you paid for it - be careful.
stubborn1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2009, 05:26 AM   #5
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Default


Thanks for the feedback. We will be careful but nice to know this works in service elsewhere.
glennintexas is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Gas Range cookiemom1970 Plumbing 1 11-14-2008 04:58 PM
Cabinet Crown Molding and Hood Range? gate1way2 Carpentry 3 10-15-2008 11:13 PM
Same Circuit: Range Hood, DW, and GD? atty_toconnor Electrical 4 04-08-2008 04:43 PM
3 prong range? laduehelp Electrical 39 03-11-2008 01:33 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts