Making Walkout Basement (Existing House) - Building & Construction - Page 2 - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Building & Construction

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Like Tree2Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Old 03-03-2018, 04:07 PM   #16
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 565
Rewards Points: 1,098
Default

Re: Making Walkout Basement (Existing House)


Quote:
Originally Posted by tsaunde3 View Post
Marson what do you mean "cut back existing floor joist so joist hang off header"? Your LVL recommendation is spot on what I was thinking. I was planning on putting it under the sill plate. Isn't this what I should do? I was planning on anchoring the studs to the cut bock with Tapcon concrete screws and drill them into the areas with a full block of concrete where just the masonry in between blocks was cut. Or should I some how fill the blocks with concrete?
So is the door going into the wall that has the sheet rock leaning on it? If so, those joists need to be supported, correct? Or am I looking at your photo wrong. I was guessing that you didnt have enough room for a header under the floor joists, in which case you can cut the joists and put them into joist hangars attached to your beam.
Marson is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-03-2018, 04:53 PM   #17
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 7
Rewards Points: 12
Default

Re: Making Walkout Basement (Existing House)


Quote:
Originally Posted by tsaunde3 View Post
Marson what do you mean "cut back existing floor joist so joist hang off header"? Your LVL recommendation is spot on what I was thinking. I was planning on putting it under the sill plate. Isn't this what I should do? I was planning on anchoring the studs to the cut bock with Tapcon concrete screws and drill them into the areas with a full block of concrete where just the masonry in between blocks was cut. Or should I some how fill the blocks with concrete?
OH I see. Well from concrete slab to bottom of floor joist in the basement its 93 inches. A patio door that is 80 inches plus 1 inch or 1 1/2 inches for rough opening. That leaves about 12 inches. If I put it under sill plate then I have enough room for a 9 1/2 inch header. Right? Directly under floor joist gives me a 12 inch header. I never thought about removing rim and cutting joist back to accommodate a header and hang the joist like you would with a deck. Probably shouldn't do that since I'm planning on fastening the new deck to that area as well (rim of house). Should the door be placed towards the exterior of the cut out or middle, or towards the interior of the framed in opening?

Last edited by tsaunde3; 03-03-2018 at 04:58 PM.
tsaunde3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-03-2018, 06:14 PM   #18
Framing Contractor
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 1,302
Rewards Points: 76
Default

Re: Making Walkout Basement (Existing House)


Not sure what your frost line is there, but wont those existing rear footings be exposed to the cold after you excavate?
sixeightten is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-03-2018, 06:29 PM   #19
Super Moderator
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 19,102
Rewards Points: 29,538
Blog Entries: 11
Default

Re: Making Walkout Basement (Existing House)


Are you aware that when you dig out all that dirt your house foundation is now no longer below frost. You will need to dig the exposed house footings down so that it is below the frost line.
joed is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2018, 02:04 PM   #20
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 7
Rewards Points: 12
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by joed View Post
Are you aware that when you dig out all that dirt your house foundation is now no longer below frost. You will need to dig the exposed house footings down so that it is below the frost line.
Yes removing dirt exposes more of the foundation. You can not see in pictures but the ground slopes away from other half of house. Meaning half of the house is ground level and the other half with the deck is 3 feet buried. They built the footers the same depth all the way around the house so removing the dirt for a walkout is not going to be detrimental to frost heave damage. Thank you all for your concerns about frost heave but Iím really just curious about headers and studs sizes and suggestions
tsaunde3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Build house on existing concrete slab troyman Building & Construction 6 04-21-2014 06:05 PM
Options for new basement Perry401 Building & Construction 8 02-27-2013 10:22 PM
Existing Basement Lights - Finishing Basement bergsj Electrical 6 01-04-2013 03:38 PM
tapping into existing HVAC for basement denemante HVAC 3 10-27-2010 06:12 AM
Sub Basement Walkout - Please Help pgs_28 Building & Construction 11 08-12-2007 10:55 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts