Installing Motion Light - Building & Construction - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Building & Construction

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Old 05-27-2014, 01:16 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Cincinnati, Ohio
Posts: 307
Rewards Points: 463
Default

Installing Motion Light


I am going to attempt to install a motion light where there is not one currently. I have the motion light, the junction box for the light and the junction box where I will tap into the electric source.

I am kinda unsure how to get it mounted onto the wall. Where I want to mount it is right below the attic vent in this picture but you see there is a 2x4 from the truss in the way. I do not want to mount it off center, it would bug the crap out of me! Any ideas on what I could do?




This is where I want to get my electric source, it is from the spare bedroom. It powers one electric outlet via a light switch. I know I will need to make sure to get the electric on the constant powered side and not the switched side.
cincinnati guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 05-27-2014, 03:46 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Cincinnati, Ohio
Posts: 307
Rewards Points: 463
Default


After some thinking, I will run a new line from the electric panel to the light. I have plenty of open spots for a new breaker.

Still unsure what to do about the 2x4 for the truss.

Does there really need to be a junction box? Can I just drill a hole through the 2x4 for the wire and mount the light directly to that 2x4?
cincinnati guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 05-27-2014, 04:12 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 371
Rewards Points: 342
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by cincinnati guy View Post
Does there really need to be a junction box? Can I just drill a hole through the 2x4 for the wire and mount the light directly to that 2x4?
No. That is a code violation.
JKeefe is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 05-27-2014, 08:37 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: minnesota
Posts: 412
Rewards Points: 254
Default


How about a shallow box in the outside the light will attach to,drill through stud and attach to inside junction box with PVC pipe?
cjm94 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2014, 09:32 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Cincinnati, Ohio
Posts: 307
Rewards Points: 463
Default


Here is what I ended up doing. I mounted it off center. I didn't think about mounting a shallow junction box outside.

I cut a hole from the inside then cut out the siding. Mounted the junction box into the hole. It didn't come out perfect. I used plenty of silicone I think to make sure its good and sealed.

cincinnati guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Installing motion sensor security light on Garage redbeast Electrical 14 10-18-2013 01:54 PM
Dual wiring for motion sensor security light ent Electrical 2 09-14-2011 03:00 PM
Permanently Bypass Motion Sensor Light pwlear Electrical 1 05-22-2011 04:27 PM
general wiring question (installing exterior light) utilitylocator Electrical 7 01-24-2010 12:52 PM
Motion Light tripping GFCI? Jonobp Electrical 5 09-07-2009 08:52 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts