I Am Brand New Here And I Am About To Finish My Basement. - Building & Construction - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Building & Construction

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 02-24-2010, 10:12 AM   #1

Rewards Points: 25

I am brand new here and I am about to finish my basement.

I've never done this before, but I have all the tools and a brain like a sponge. So tell me everything. Thanks

No I'm kidding. But I'm serious though. But not really.

No seriously, I am a newbie at this and my goal is to be like Yummy Mummy and finish my basement on my own. Hopefully in less than 3 years though. 3 months maybe?
LiquidSlap is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 02-24-2010, 11:00 AM   #2

Hmm, is there an admin that can't move this thread to Building and Construction? I seemed to have mistakenly put it in the wrong place.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 02-24-2010, 11:14 AM   #3

Rewards Points: 2,000

Do you have a specific question ?

Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 02-24-2010, 11:18 AM   #4

Quote:
Originally Posted by Scuba_Dave View Post
Do you have a specific question ?

Actually I do, I get the general principle for framing with the 16 on center. How do I do the corners where the studs meet up? and where do I measure from for the first 16?

I photo would be nice for visual purposes.
Old 02-25-2010, 02:10 PM   #5

Rewards Points: 334

You might want to check into some books on residential construction and framing as well as about basement remodelling.These should answer most of your questions as well as raise some more. They will also help you plan your project including how to allow for plumbing, heating and electrical. Don't forget to get permits before you start!
daveb1 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2010, 05:37 PM   #6
Retired Moderator

Rewards Points: 7,174