Header On New Door - Building & Construction - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Building & Construction

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Display Modes
Old 09-14-2010, 06:58 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 12
Rewards Points: 10
Default

header on new door


I have to put a new door in , the old one is 34" the new one is going to be 36". putting a new header so Do I have to put a temp wall to hold the load or is that small of a spand ok to just replace the header? Should i use 2x6 or 2x8 header? Above is bed rooms and the roof , I live in Boston so we have a good snow load 2. I know you can x2 size of the opening like(a 3' RO=2x6, 4'RO=2x8,5'RO=2x10.....) THANKS FOR THE HELP

Last edited by Boston Bean; 09-14-2010 at 07:10 AM.
Boston Bean is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 09-14-2010, 09:21 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Ontario Canada, Toronto to be exact.
Posts: 1,402
Rewards Points: 558
Default


You should have no problem with 2x6ís but like every engineer that I know always over sizes things to protect themselves so if you want, you can use 2x8ís if it will make you sleep at night.
epson is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 09-14-2010, 07:31 PM   #3
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 11,730
Rewards Points: 526
Default


http://www.burlington.org/Building08/Spans.pdf

Gary
__________________
If any ads are present below my answer or words underlined/colored, I do not condone/support/use the product or services listed/linked to, they are there without my consent.
17,000 dryer fires a year, when did you last clean the inside of the dryer near motor or the exhaust ducting?
Gary in WA is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 09-19-2010, 10:42 AM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 12
Rewards Points: 10
Default


do you guy think i have to put a temp wall to hold the load? I've seen guys just replace the header but I like to do stuff the best way AND GUYS THANKS FOR ALL THE HELP....... THIS IS THE BEST SITE
Boston Bean is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2010, 11:20 AM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 132
Rewards Points: 111
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by Boston Bean View Post
do you guy think i have to put a temp wall to hold the load? I've seen guys just replace the header but I like to do stuff the best way AND GUYS THANKS FOR ALL THE HELP....... THIS IS THE BEST SITE
It wouldn't take too long to slap up a temp wall. It's worth the reassurance that nothing moves.
luvdairish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2010, 12:42 PM   #6
Framing Contractor
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Caldwell, NJ
Posts: 1,758
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by Boston Bean View Post
I have to put a new door in , the old one is 34" the new one is going to be 36". putting a new header so Do I have to put a temp wall to hold the load or is that small of a spand ok to just replace the header? Should i use 2x6 or 2x8 header? Above is bed rooms and the roof , I live in Boston so we have a good snow load 2. I know you can x2 size of the opening like(a 3' RO=2x6, 4'RO=2x8,5'RO=2x10.....) THANKS FOR THE HELP
Quote:
Originally Posted by epson [SIZE=3
You should have no problem with 2x6ís but like every engineer that I know always over sizes things to protect themselves so if you want, you can use 2x8ís if it will make you sleep at night.

Epson,

What the heck kind of advice is that to give? He has a second floor and roof load above this opening and you have no idea what that is and your telling him to use 2x6's for a header. You have no idea what your talking about and that is dangerous advice especially if this person listens to you.
__________________
Joe Carola

Last edited by Joe Carola; 09-19-2010 at 12:44 PM.
Joe Carola is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2010, 02:37 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 11,194
Rewards Points: 5,348
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by Boston Bean View Post
I have to put a new door in , the old one is 34" the new one is going to be 36". putting a new header so Do I have to put a temp wall to hold the load or is that small of a spand ok to just replace the header? Should i use 2x6 or 2x8 header? Above is bed rooms and the roof , I live in Boston so we have a good snow load 2. I know you can x2 size of the opening like(a 3' RO=2x6, 4'RO=2x8,5'RO=2x10.....) THANKS FOR THE HELP
You need to know if the wall is load bearing or not. If it's a load bearing wall, put up walls on both sides if the ceiling framing members meet above. Peel off the sheetrock and look at the header size you have now. That will give you an idea what you will need. Don't make the header any smaller then what you have now. Considering the material cost of one, 8' 2 x "whatever", you can put in a 2x12 if you have the room. How much more are you spending if the current header is a 2x8?
Ron
Ron6519 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2010, 12:50 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Ontario Canada, Toronto to be exact.
Posts: 1,402
Rewards Points: 558
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by Joe Carola View Post
Epson,

What the heck kind of advice is that to give? He has a second floor and roof load above this opening and you have no idea what that is and your telling him to use 2x6's for a header. You have no idea what your talking about and that is dangerous advice especially if this person listens to you.
Before flapping your gums check out the tables: http://www.burlington.org/Building08/Spans.pdf
and I also said he could use 2x8's for a header if it made him feel better.
epson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2010, 01:46 PM   #9
Member
 
Tizzer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Richmond Va.
Posts: 511
Rewards Points: 148
Default


I'd do as Ron mentioned, don't go smaller than whats there. If you've never done this before, get the RO for the door you will put in before you start cutting.
A 36" door "usually" needs a 38" hole - you can always fill back in.
Tizzer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2010, 01:52 PM   #10
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 12
Rewards Points: 10
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by Ron6519 View Post
You need to know if the wall is load bearing or not. If it's a load bearing wall, put up walls on both sides if the ceiling framing members meet above. Peel off the sheetrock and look at the header size you have now. That will give you an idea what you will need. Don't make the header any smaller then what you have now. Considering the material cost of one, 8' 2 x "whatever", you can put in a 2x12 if you have the room. How much more are you spending if the current header is a 2x8?
Ron
Ron its a front door
Boston Bean is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2010, 05:11 PM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 11,194
Rewards Points: 5,348
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by Boston Bean View Post
Ron its a front door
Then the outside stud wall can be balsa wood.
Ron
Ron6519 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
sliding patio door header... sharp Remodeling 2 11-03-2009 03:50 PM
Adjusting Garage Door torsion springs INGunGuy Building & Construction 4 10-12-2009 07:22 AM
Rehanging an exterior basement door tputkey Building & Construction 9 05-21-2009 03:19 PM
Larson Storm Door Won't Close Snowbird Building & Construction 13 03-03-2009 03:01 AM
Entry Door---My Story----Advice Please rossmoor Building & Construction 3 02-29-2008 09:13 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts