Dormer Issue - Building & Construction - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Building & Construction

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Old 07-17-2013, 08:37 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 330
Rewards Points: 250
Default

dormer issue


Can someone please explain how to determine shed dormer headwall height?
markharmon is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-18-2013, 02:24 PM   #2
Member
 
GBrackins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Fairhaven, Massachusetts
Posts: 2,915
Rewards Points: 2,108
Default


depends on the height of the dormer wall, slope of the dormer shed roof and existing roof slope
__________________
Gary

"You get what you pay for, and sometimes free costs more!"
GBrackins is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-18-2013, 03:46 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 330
Rewards Points: 250
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by markharmon View Post
Can someone please explain how to determine shed dormer headwall height?
Im asking how to determine the headwall height so why are you asking me for the wall height?
markharmon is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-18-2013, 03:47 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 330
Rewards Points: 250
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by GBrackins View Post
depends on the height of the dormer wall, slope of the dormer shed roof and existing roof slope
dormer shed roof will be 7/12. The existing roof is the same.
markharmon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2013, 03:47 PM   #5
Member
 
GBrackins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Fairhaven, Massachusetts
Posts: 2,915
Rewards Points: 2,108
Default


are you putting a window in the dormer? what is the purpose of the dormer? how tall, how far above the floor is the window? how wide is the dormer? can you tell there are a lot of questions when it comes to dormers?
__________________
Gary

"You get what you pay for, and sometimes free costs more!"
GBrackins is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to GBrackins For This Useful Post:
woodworkbykirk (07-18-2013)
Old 07-18-2013, 09:05 PM   #6
journeyman carpenter
 
woodworkbykirk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: nova scotia canada
Posts: 3,480
Rewards Points: 1,578
Default


you basically have to open up the existing roof and reinforce the sides of the opening. .then from there frame your front wall at the required height you want. for a proper window height.. then just frame the roof to that..

theres too many calculations that have to be done on site to do it over the internet
woodworkbykirk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2013, 09:27 PM   #7
Member
 
GBrackins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Fairhaven, Massachusetts
Posts: 2,915
Rewards Points: 2,108
Default


I think you need to take a closer look at your roof pitches. if both are framed with the same pitch and the dormer roof begins lower than than the existing ridge then your dormer roof will be under the existing roof.

now if you did a gable dormer you'd have something better to work with, at least in my opinion

good luck!
__________________
Gary

"You get what you pay for, and sometimes free costs more!"
GBrackins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2013, 11:25 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 330
Rewards Points: 250
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by woodworkbykirk View Post
you basically have to open up the existing roof and reinforce the sides of the opening. .then from there frame your front wall at the required height you want. for a proper window height.. then just frame the roof to that..

theres too many calculations that have to be done on site to do it over the internet
when you add trimmers to the existing rafters do they extend from the ridge all the way to the exterior wall of the house or just to the bottom header?
markharmon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2013, 04:24 PM   #9
journeyman carpenter
 
woodworkbykirk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: nova scotia canada
Posts: 3,480
Rewards Points: 1,578
Default


you have to double the existing rafters first from teh ridge to the plate as these rafters now compensate for a larger opening in hte roof
woodworkbykirk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2013, 10:35 AM   #10
AHH, SPANS!!!
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Durham NC
Posts: 1,751
Rewards Points: 1,166
Default


dormer height needs to be no less than 7 1/2 foot from floor and woodworkbyKirk is correct, the rafter either side of the dormer need to be doubled or tripled or lvl,ed depending on the dormer size with an appropriate sized header across the doubled up rafters to catch the rafters above the dormer that are cut off from placing the dormer.
hand drive is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Number of Receptacles in a Dormer Alcove? chabot150 Electrical 8 01-09-2013 11:24 PM
Vent stack ruining dormer plans! joshnoiseux Plumbing 6 11-01-2012 12:04 PM
Why Leaking Roof under Dormer / hole in OSB!!! MB1 Roofing/Siding 32 12-15-2011 05:20 PM
Westinghouse furnace issue joe8918 HVAC 9 12-04-2011 06:50 PM
how to reduce mositure issue on basement? diy001 Building & Construction 0 10-28-2011 01:44 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts