Chimney Cap Question - Building & Construction - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Building & Construction

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Old 06-30-2015, 07:41 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Atlanta, Georgia
Posts: 113
Rewards Points: 121
Default

Chimney Cap Question


I am looking for an economical way to cap a chimney for a fireplace I do not use.

Well, actually we switched from the old wood burning unit to a new gas fireplace and have vented it out the back. Now I want to cap the old fireplace. Right now it has what looks like sheet metal with a hole for the old metal pipe. The chimney box itself is wood framed with cedar siding, about 42" by 66". I was thinking of getting sheet metal and having it bent a couple of inches around the edges for attachment. Does not need to be pretty, not visible from the street or the rear, just needs to keep the weather out.

If you all think that might work then what metal and thickness would be best? Other opinions on options appreciated.
JoeLena is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-30-2015, 07:46 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Detroit
Posts: 237
Rewards Points: 474
Default


I believe you have your answer, simple but yet effective.
BrowneBearLLC is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-30-2015, 08:03 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Atlanta, Georgia
Posts: 113
Rewards Points: 121
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by BrowneBearLLC View Post
I believe you have your answer, simple but yet effective.
Just confused about which metal and thickness I suppose.
JoeLena is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-30-2015, 11:46 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Detroit
Posts: 237
Rewards Points: 474
Default


I see sorry, I just do them with standard aluminum that one would use on a house.Just do not use steel due to rusting where you will get stains running down the side
BrowneBearLLC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2015, 04:01 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Atlanta, Georgia
Posts: 113
Rewards Points: 121
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by BrowneBearLLC View Post
I see sorry, I just do them with standard aluminum that one would use on a house.Just do not use steel due to rusting where you will get stains running down the side
Okay, thanks! Sounds like a good plan.
JoeLena is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2015, 04:55 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Canada
Posts: 8,051
Rewards Points: 80
Default


I've used steel before, but only where i didn't care about rust stains. Aluminum is great. Any gauge works really. Nothing specific needed.

Cheers!
supers05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2015, 05:11 PM   #7
Member
 
kwikfishron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: North Central Kansas
Posts: 11,243
Rewards Points: 60
Default


Go to a local HVAC company with a shop. They fabricate this type of thing all the time. They'll be able to help you with material choice.

If you're going to supply the measurements then be sure that chimney is square as many of them are not. If yours isn't square then make a plywood or cardboard template and take that to them. Be sure to oversize it a bit so you know it will fit.
__________________
A Picture Is Worth A Thousand Words
Especially In The DIY Chatroom
kwikfishron is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2015, 06:00 PM   #8
Low Slope Roofing
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Nebraska
Posts: 1,451
Rewards Points: 114
Default


For a few bucks more you can get prefinished steel. No rust to worry about, or galvanized will work also. I'd be careful with what gauge you use, some were built rather cheap and may not have a plywood base.
1985gt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2015, 09:37 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: North Georgia
Posts: 1,913
Rewards Points: 1,826
Default


Roofing companies do cap replacements too. In your unusual case you want the 'no hole' option. They will put a kickout on the flange and an 'X' on the top to keep it domed so water won't collect up there.
ChuckF. is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Any chimney sweeps here? Question: noquacks General DIY Discussions 4 12-08-2010 11:46 PM
Concrete block Chimney problems scoggy Building & Construction 0 03-09-2010 08:00 PM
Roof Leak Around Chimney robertr4836 Roofing/Siding 3 03-11-2008 12:23 PM
Looks like leaking around the chimney - roofer says it is the chimney itself Salvatorparadise Roofing/Siding 6 03-07-2008 04:12 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts