Can I Enclose My Porch? - Building & Construction - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Building & Construction

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Old 10-08-2010, 06:30 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Can I enclose my porch?


Hi everyone, let me try to explain the best I can.
On one end of my house there use to be a carport. The people who owned the house before me took that carport and on one half they made a "sun room" well thats what they called it. It is heated and cooled and has 3 long windows on each of the 3 walls. On the other side they made a porch. However, on the porch side the floor is concrete and there are 4 post holding that side of the roof. ( the roof covers the whole space, both sun room and porch. Now the post are not bolted into the concrete they sit on these metal things (sorry I have no idea what you call all of this) Anyways, what I would like to do is make this whole space one big room. Which would mean closing in two wall, taking the window out of the wall that now divides them and either knocking that wall out or making a large walkway. My question is, can it be done?
I'm sorry if this post is confusing.
huffdaddysgirl is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 10-08-2010, 06:44 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 11,194
Rewards Points: 5,348
Default


Post some photos.
Ron
Ron6519 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Ron6519 For This Useful Post:
huffdaddysgirl (10-08-2010)
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 10-08-2010, 06:51 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Default


Ok Ron, I will in the morning. To dark now to really be able to see anything.
huffdaddysgirl is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 10-09-2010, 11:24 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Vermont
Posts: 762
Rewards Points: 500
Default


Yes, it can be done! Just need pics
mrgins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2010, 09:06 AM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Default






Hope this works I wasn't sure how to upload a picture on this site.

Last edited by huffdaddysgirl; 10-10-2010 at 09:12 AM.
huffdaddysgirl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2010, 09:13 AM   #6
Civil Engineer
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Boston
Posts: 5,832
Rewards Points: 5,246
Default


You need to start by having a chat with the building inspector. Especially if the previous owners "forgot" to get a permit for the work they did. Enclosing space always requires a permit, unless you live in the far boonies where the buses don't go. But of course you can enclose space, simply requires framing, finishing, and possibly electrical and plumbing.
Daniel Holzman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2010, 09:25 AM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Default


Thank You! It would not surprise me if the previous owners didn't have permits. I've found that they did a lot of "updates" that they cut corners on.
huffdaddysgirl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2010, 09:59 AM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Vermont
Posts: 762
Rewards Points: 500
Default


That looks like the floor is at or close to grade level. I don't know where you live, but you might consider an insulated slab
mrgins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2010, 10:00 AM   #9
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Default


We are in North Carolina.
huffdaddysgirl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2010, 11:50 AM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Vermont
Posts: 762
Rewards Points: 500
Default


Oops! Didn't read your initial post that states there already is a slab. Shouldn't be a problem if you consult the inspector first
mrgins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2010, 01:50 PM   #11
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 11,730
Rewards Points: 526
Default


The existing slab appears to drop 6" on the outside edge when lining up the railing with the roof line in the first picture. As it was a carport slab there are not any thickened edges around the slab perimeter to hold up the walls as required by current code. In your State the heating degree days vary from 0-4000 annually to require 0/2’ of foam insulation under the slab at exterior perimeter, depending on location. A vapor barrier under the slab with a heated space will also be required if under the IRC minimum safety codes. So with the existing slope, I would contact the B.D. and pour a new slab, up to today’s Code. Then you would have the new square footage on your house’s personal record with the County for higher resale value and H.O. Insurance coverage.

Gary
__________________
If any ads are present below my answer or words underlined/colored, I do not condone/support/use the product or services listed/linked to, they are there without my consent.
17,000 dryer fires a year, when did you last clean the inside of the dryer near motor or the exhaust ducting?
Gary in WA is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to Winterize Porch subdude Remodeling 0 02-04-2010 09:00 PM
New Concrete Porch (Standing Water) ronbar Building & Construction 7 09-27-2008 06:54 AM
Help - I need to enclose a porch DDRowe Remodeling 5 11-30-2006 11:43 AM
PORCH: To Enclose or not to Enclose... singforsupper Building & Construction 2 08-05-2005 08:46 PM
Framing in New Windows to enclose a porch DDRowe Building & Construction 2 05-25-2005 07:05 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts