Building A Shed/barn - Building & Construction - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Building & Construction

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Display Modes
Old 07-07-2010, 12:16 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 137
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Building a shed/barn


In the midst of getting a shed built..... Actually I only have the gravel in place right now. It will be 30x18 with 10 foot walls. Concrete will be poured soon.

Should I build directly on top of the concrete, or would it be best if I did 1 row of brick and build from that?

Gonna be 1x10 vertical siding.

Thoughts?
fjacky is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-07-2010, 08:38 PM   #2
Retired Moderator
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Kane county,Illinois
Posts: 25,728
Rewards Points: 7,174
Default


How high will the slab be from ground level? I like 8 inches for termite and moisture issues.

If you choose to add a row of cement block--be sure that you have the right rebar or anchors to place your block.

There are some experienced concrete/masonry folks here---I have very limited knowledge (that work is done before I show up.)
oh'mike is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-07-2010, 08:53 PM   #3
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 11,730
Rewards Points: 526
Default


It will all be on his permitted plans.......

Be safe, Gary
__________________
If any ads are present below my answer or words underlined/colored, I do not condone/support/use the product or services listed/linked to, they are there without my consent.
17,000 dryer fires a year, when did you last clean the inside of the dryer near motor or the exhaust ducting?
Gary in WA is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-09-2010, 11:26 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 137
Rewards Points: 75
Default


The concrete will not be 8 inches from ground level, so maybe I should be doing a row of block...I'm guessing the row of block is to keep the wood structure away from the ground level moisture.....right?
fjacky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2010, 11:49 AM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default


Yes - water will rot it out, my shed was not built with 8" of distance to the ground
The side immediately bordering the pool the bottom 12" rotted out
--this was due to pool water

The sides that were not facing the pool did not rot out
Shed was possibly 10-15+ years old



Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2010, 02:43 PM   #6
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 11,730
Rewards Points: 526
Default


Here is the basic older code for building, most of it still current. After reading this page, click on "next" to learn other minimums. 6" minimum to sill plate: http://www.mcvicker.com/resguide/page008.htm

Be safe, Gary
__________________
If any ads are present below my answer or words underlined/colored, I do not condone/support/use the product or services listed/linked to, they are there without my consent.
17,000 dryer fires a year, when did you last clean the inside of the dryer near motor or the exhaust ducting?
Gary in WA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2010, 11:17 AM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 137
Rewards Points: 75
Default


I have approx 5 inches of gravel... before I pour the concrete should I get a power tamper and tamp the gravel down or just let it settle as is? Many have said no need to tamp, but others of course said to do it.

Thoughts?
fjacky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2010, 09:59 AM   #8
Member
 
concretemasonry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Minneapolis/St. Paul, Minnesota - Latitude 45.057 Longitude -93.074
Posts: 4,113
Rewards Points: 2,716
Default


Do not just plop the building/sill on the slab.

Use a 5", 5 5/8" or 7 5/8" high block to get above the soil and the slab - Anchors between the sill and the slab (through the block cores after preliminary layout). Put the sill on the block.

This gives you another chance to square building to make framing easier and more freedom in correcting the exterior drainage. Many slab on grade shed have the normal problems of dirt inside and fill piling up around the shed as landscaping/drainage errors are discovered.

Once, when you begin to use the shed, you will realize how much the block curb does to make it easier to clean (or hose out) after you get the usual debris tracked in.

Dick
concretemasonry is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Advice on building a backyard studio/office? johnnyb10 Building & Construction 11 12-03-2011 11:43 PM
NEC uses building size?????? hhiibel Electrical 14 08-08-2008 12:19 PM
Building a movable garden shed/greenhouse gardener Building & Construction 1 06-13-2008 04:47 PM
A steel building that doesn't look like a steel building? MMW Building & Construction 1 06-11-2007 04:24 PM
International building code and permits rforsha Building & Construction 4 08-28-2006 06:35 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts