Beam Construction - Building & Construction - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Building & Construction

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Display Modes
Old 05-22-2020, 10:06 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Posts: 30
Rewards Points: 30
Default

Beam construction


Building a 24x20 structure and I want a 20’ beam splitting it in have to rest the second floor joists.

I can get some expensive I beams or make my own. How do you construct a beam worthy of supporting the second floor... The beam would be testing on 24” of studs on each end

Thanks
Cambraupod is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 05-22-2020, 04:38 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Location: NY and FL
Posts: 1,698
Rewards Points: 3,408
Default

Re: Beam construction


I would not construct it, I would buy micro lams in the size and number necessary. Most decent lumber yards will take the info and contact the manufacturer to have their engineer size them. Then brace it so it can’t rotate. The top of a beam is in compression and the bottom is in tension, so they try to equalize by rotating. Most beam failures are not from the beam breaking in half, rather, the beam rotates and fails.
Old Thomas is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 05-22-2020, 06:34 PM   #3
retired framer
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Fraser Valley BC Canada
Posts: 34,718
Rewards Points: 13,094
Default

Re: Beam construction


I would not expect it to be no less than a 6x14" beam and nothing you can build out of pieces of lumber.
__________________
Do not use flat bottom gables with scissor trusses.
https://www.fema.gov/media-library-d...6/chapter7.pdf
figure 7-14
Nealtw is online now   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 05-22-2020, 11:09 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Location: NY and FL
Posts: 1,698
Rewards Points: 3,408
Default

Re: Beam construction


Yea, Nealtw. I did a 24 foot span and it used 3 microlams 14” deep and 1 3/4” thick.
Old Thomas is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Top of Page | View New Posts