Adding Venting Duct? - Building & Construction - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Building & Construction

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Old 09-03-2014, 08:57 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Tacoma, WA
Posts: 340
Rewards Points: 358
Default

Adding Venting Duct?


I am really not sure which section to add this in, so if mods must move this I apologize in advance.

We have a space saver microwave over our electric stove.



The biggest complaint we have about this is that it does not vent to outside, it just recirculates through a filter and blows it back into your face, which really does nothing.

Our microwave needs to be replaced, so when that happens I would like to try to add a vent to the outside. The problem with this is the location of the microwave, it is located directly in front of my breaker box, and main power line in from the city. Not to mention under the eve. Here are a couple more pics.





Now most of the vents I see go directly out the wall, but I am not sure if this is possible in my case. Is going though the roof the only option in my case, and then I can box around the ductwork above the cabinets?
cbzdel is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 09-03-2014, 09:36 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: far sw sub chicago
Posts: 6,668
Rewards Points: 996
Default


angle the pipe over either way inside the cabinet. then out the wall.
Fix'n it is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 09-03-2014, 10:14 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Tacoma, WA
Posts: 340
Rewards Points: 358
Default


Is a certain type of vent required for this, or is it the same thing as a dryer vent?

Or does it also depend on the appliance itself?
cbzdel is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 09-03-2014, 10:48 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: far sw sub chicago
Posts: 6,668
Rewards Points: 996
Default


i am going to get one of these, when i do mine.
http://www.luxurymetals.com/wind-proof-wall-vent.html
Fix'n it is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2014, 10:44 AM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Tacoma, WA
Posts: 340
Rewards Points: 358
Default


Between a wall and roof vent, is there a reason to choose one over the other?

I am really worried about going into the wall with the power box right there, I am worried the wall there is just full of electrical lines, not to mention drilling though hardie siding is a pain in the butt haha..
cbzdel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2014, 09:13 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: far sw sub chicago
Posts: 6,668
Rewards Points: 996
Default


i don't know anything about going through the roof. someone else will have to help there.
but i don't see why it can't be done.
Fix'n it is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ridge Cap Venting Issues - Poor Ventilation?? askeyb Roofing/Siding 16 03-29-2016 05:05 PM
Duct Fan Relay Question Burbman HVAC 4 03-13-2013 08:34 PM
Adding Return Air Duct in Master Bedroom ajlewis1 HVAC 10 08-14-2011 05:33 PM
Metal duct or flex? smokey982 HVAC 6 08-06-2010 07:20 AM
Adding new duct/Register CEbury HVAC 1 06-25-2008 11:51 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts