Workshop Sub Panel - Electrical - Page 2 - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Display Modes
Old 07-03-2013, 10:53 AM   #16
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 139
Rewards Points: 89
Default


Thanks to all for there opinions on this. K buz thank you for your professional opinion also. I believe you are probably correct in that I am opening a can of worms by taking this route. I have been bouncing back and forth in my mind about which route to take, subpanel vs double lug meter and I think the smartest and safest approach would be the subpanel. It prevents me from overloading my service line from the transformer. I just really would like to have more than 100 amp service to the shop. Can anyone tell me if my homeline panel can support the 125 amp braker I found online that supposedly fits it? I can then run 2/0 al wire. Thanks.
hartkem is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-03-2013, 04:34 PM   #17
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,352
Rewards Points: 2,006
Default


Think about it this way...you are only one person, unless you have other people in there with you, you will only be able to use one maybe two machines. I highly doubt you will pull 100A much less over that.
__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-03-2013, 05:41 PM   #18
Remodel and New Build GC
 
MTN REMODEL LLC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Colorado @ 7651'
Posts: 9,020
Rewards Points: 1,852
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by k_buz View Post
Think about it this way...you are only one person, unless you have other people in there with you, you will only be able to use one maybe two machines. I highly doubt you will pull 100A much less over that.
Maybe a grow house???? They are using LED grow lights now out here in Colorado... heat is still an issue in winter eating electrical.
__________________
Never stop learning (xcep fer speling en typeing)
MTN REMODEL LLC is online now   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-03-2013, 07:43 PM   #19
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 139
Rewards Points: 89
Default


No grow house but I will have ac and a lot of equipment. 100 amp will do but not much extra to spare
hartkem is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to hartkem For This Useful Post:
MTN REMODEL LLC (07-03-2013)
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Multiple Panel Question theatretch85 Electrical 7 09-29-2016 07:15 PM
Main Service Panel to 2 breaker panels - I can imagine you all rolling your eyes kalus Electrical 22 03-23-2012 02:09 AM
Mobile Home Electrical Panel Replacement rrolleston Electrical 2 01-28-2012 05:27 PM
200A upgrade and move, backfeeding permitted? WillK Electrical 3 05-30-2011 08:00 PM
turn main panel into a sub panel? tikicarver Electrical 2 01-24-2008 07:37 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts