Wiring A Sub Panel Using 10/2 Feeder - Electrical - Page 2 - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Old 06-06-2010, 11:22 AM   #16
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 9
Rewards Points: 10
Default


J.V.,

I am thinking the single circuit is my best option. Will I still need to install the grounding system? Where will the GFCI outlet be in the circuit path, before or after the light switch used as a disconnect?

Scuba_Dave,

Thanks for the link to the 2008 NEC! It seems like it is impossible to find free links to this type of information which should be more readily accessible. I did find a link that showed Virginia as still operating under the 2005 NEC, is there a location to find a copy of that for free? The reason I ask is because a7ecorsair had a reference to it saying a 3 wire feed was allowed.
Willing2learn is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-07-2010, 09:33 AM   #17
I=E/R
 
a7ecorsair's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,052
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default


Hi,
You don't have three wires for a feed so don't worry about it and it may have changed in the 2008 NEC anyway. Three wires would be a red, black, and white. The bare ground doesn't count.
A switch for disconnect will be your first device in the shed. It will not control any other device - it will be strictly a disconnect for the entire shed.
a7ecorsair is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-07-2010, 10:26 AM   #18
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 4,109
Rewards Points: 308
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by Willing2learn View Post
J.V.,

I am thinking the single circuit is my best option. Will I still need to install the grounding system? Where will the GFCI outlet be in the circuit path, before or after the light switch used as a disconnect?
No need for the ground rod (system). This is a simple branch circuit. Just use a 20 amp breaker unless you plan to use #10 wire for everything, inside and outside.
Bring the circuit to the switch first, then feed the rest.

You can use a GFCI receptacle or breaker. If you use a receptacle, just put it first in the line of receptacles. No GFCI needed for lights.
J. V. is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Multiple Panel Question theatretch85 Electrical 7 09-29-2016 07:15 PM
Wiring from panel Rick N. Electrical 6 07-10-2013 04:25 PM
Sub panel wiring & grounding kwcamaro Electrical 1 03-06-2010 07:58 AM
Sub panel feeder wire rovers1973 Electrical 4 03-03-2010 10:02 PM
Sub panel wiring question mntnvew Electrical 13 03-02-2009 11:28 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts