Wiring Rolair Compressor - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Old 03-16-2010, 03:00 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 10
Default

wiring rolair compressor


i recently purchased a rolair compressor its a 30 gl, single phase, 3hp stationay vertical compressor.I plan on having it conected next to a 100 amp subpanel in my garage.problem is im not sure wat gauge wire and breaker i need.. im no eletrician but ive wired things to my breaker box bfore so if its not to complicated id like to try myself. v3130k18 is the model #.. any help is greatly appreciated!!
wtf. is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-16-2010, 03:07 PM   #2
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Indiana
Posts: 4,414
Rewards Points: 5,084
Default


What are the nameplate voltages and amperages?
brric is online now   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-16-2010, 10:08 PM   #3
Idiot Emeritus
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Fernley, Nevada (near Reno)
Posts: 1,910
Rewards Points: 80
Default


If the motor on this compressor is an actual 3HP (on a Rolaire, it likely is), then the following would apply;

For 115 volts, the minimum wire size would be #8 (if it's NM cable, it'd need to be #6), and the maximum breaker would be 80 amp.

For 230 volts, the minimum wire size would be #12, and the maximum breaker would be 40 amp.

Rob
micromind is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-17-2010, 06:00 AM   #4
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Indiana
Posts: 4,414
Rewards Points: 5,084
Default


A single phase 3 HP motor will draw 17 amps @ 230 volts. # 12 on a 2 pole breaker will probably suffice but I would recommend # 10 on a 30 amp breaker.
brric is online now   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Older air compressor wiring help lash-1295 Electrical 91 12-23-2009 12:46 PM
Need advice on 240 wiring for air compressor AJCady Electrical 2 10-20-2009 02:29 PM
Air compressor wiring help integlikewhoa Electrical 3 01-18-2009 11:42 AM
New Compressor - Wrong Charge? shayneb HVAC 4 08-23-2008 08:13 AM
Replacing Wiring From Outside Fuse Box To Central Ac Compressor bobo Electrical 8 03-02-2007 09:23 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts