Wiring On Pump To Outlet - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Display Modes
Old 02-24-2019, 10:34 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 462
Rewards Points: 294
Default

Wiring on pump to outlet


I see many newer sump pumps like blue one in pic have a single 25ft cord an the float switch wiring is short ,connected there in pump.
Is there any reason i cant lengthen -Both-my cords on my pump to 25ft though i have the pump switch wiring, that goes beside main wiring into outlet between motor plug an recepticle,on my pump,?
Or does the rating an build on specs of motor-in pic- on mine deem shorter wire only?
This would really help eliminate installing a outlet out in the weather if i can run plug ends to the direct dry outlet thats 15 -18 ft away.
Thanks.
Attached Thumbnails
Wiring on pump to outlet-20190219_110242.jpg  
Attached Images
     

Last edited by hidden 1; 02-24-2019 at 10:39 AM.
hidden 1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-24-2019, 10:43 AM   #2
Super Moderator
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 20,184
Rewards Points: 31,680
Blog Entries: 11
Default

Re: Wiring on pump to outlet


I have to ask why do you need to extend both?
Just extend the power cord. Once you start modifying it, you probably won't get it as waterproof as the factory.
joed is online now   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-24-2019, 10:45 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 462
Rewards Points: 294
Default

Re: Wiring on pump to outlet


Because its 18ft from the outlet an the cords[12ft] been cut in past an respliced..2 cords - piggyback method - interupter in float plug.
If i can do it i wont need to run power outside to it.

Blue one has 1 long 25ft cord to motor an short wire directly inside to float .[not 2nd plug in as mine has]

Last edited by hidden 1; 02-24-2019 at 10:57 AM.
hidden 1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-24-2019, 11:41 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 462
Rewards Points: 294
Default

Re: Wiring on pump to outlet


Here is some of the specs .
That has 2 - 9 ft cords.not 12
Attached Thumbnails
Wiring on pump to outlet-20190224_112904.jpg   Wiring on pump to outlet-80745-515wx515h.jpeg.jpg  

Last edited by hidden 1; 02-24-2019 at 11:44 AM.
hidden 1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2019, 12:29 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: IL
Posts: 1,484
Rewards Points: 1,306
Default

Re: Wiring on pump to outlet


I guess you can do it but you are adding additional lower gauge wire (typically 16 gauge or less for the pump and float switch) so if you go too long you'll have voltage drop issues.


Further what do you mean by "splice". If you mean twisting wires together and wrapping the whole thing with electrical tape, no way. That is not a legitimate splice. Similarly wire nuts are not allowed unless they are contained in a junction box. So now you are into a specialty waterproof splice kit which are available but somewhat rare.


Since this pump sounds like it is outdoors then you have the issue of GFCI tripping if your splice isn't waterproof and moisture gets in it. You are required to power this pump from a GFCI protected source.


If it were me I'd locate a weather proof GFCI outlet near enough to the pump that I could use the factory molded cords unmodified. I'd spend a bit for for a GFCI that has a audible tone when it trips so I can be alterted if that occurs (and my pump is down).


https://www.amazon.com/Leviton-A7599.../dp/B00M1VL582


https://www.amazon.com/s?k=TayMac+MM...ref=nb_sb_noss

Last edited by curiousB; 02-24-2019 at 12:32 PM.
curiousB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2019, 01:36 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 462
Rewards Points: 294
Default

Re: Wiring on pump to outlet


Yes ty ,i do like those audible alarms ...
Its already protected by the garage first run gfci on 20 amp 12/2..An i can up the wire size if needed for 10 more feet.. .
Im hoping maybe i can run new 12/2 or 10/2 wire with plug ends ,piggy back still, to it directly in to pump,so i can do away with building a moisture stricken outside rated outlet to it.
First pump pic ,one built with 20ft cord looks similar on amp,etc but of coarse it doesnt have its 2nd cord going to outlet as mine does.
Thanks

Last edited by hidden 1; 02-24-2019 at 01:57 PM.
hidden 1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Simple Extend an Outlet Wiring Question Curmudgeon10 Electrical 15 03-05-2015 01:21 PM
Outlet wiring; hidden ground wires Cahill_Main Electrical 4 11-26-2012 06:32 PM
Changing Two Gang Outlet to Three Gang Outlet vbullinger Electrical 9 01-10-2011 05:13 PM
Wiring a geothermal pump gfmonk Electrical 5 11-14-2009 02:30 PM
Well pump wiring, the correct guage? lennyjay Electrical 3 08-18-2009 12:53 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts