Wiring In New Breaker - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Display Modes
Old 01-05-2015, 07:03 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Cincinnati, Ohio
Posts: 307
Rewards Points: 463
Default

Wiring in new breaker


I am running a new line for our dishwasher. I have the wires ran. Who ever wired the house was thinking ahead, and ran extra conduit to run wire in the future.

Ive done this before but it was a while ago. I know the hot wire goes to the breaker. But does both the ground and neutral go to the grounding block?
cincinnati guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-05-2015, 07:24 PM   #2
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 8,551
Rewards Points: 6,664
Default


If you have separate bus bars, then the white goes on the neutral bar, and the ground goes to the ground bus.
If they are connected, then you can put them on the same bar, but not under the same screw.
__________________
Yes I am a pirate, two hundred years too late
The cannons don't thunder, there's nothing to plunder
I'm an over-forty victim of fate.
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-06-2015, 04:21 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 2,512
Rewards Points: 1,832
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by cincinnati guy View Post
I am running a new line for our dishwasher. I have the wires ran. Who ever wired the house was thinking ahead, and ran extra conduit to run wire in the future.

Ive done this before but it was a while ago. I know the hot wire goes to the breaker. But does both the ground and neutral go to the grounding block?


The neutral wire goes the neutral bar, while the ground wire goes onto the ground bar. If this is a main panel and not a subpanel the ground wire can go to the neutral bar as well. Never place a neutral wire on a ground bar (one that is attached directly to the can and not on plastic supports)



If unsure post a pic of the panel and I can guide you as to where appropriate.
Jump-start is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-06-2015, 07:31 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Cincinnati, Ohio
Posts: 307
Rewards Points: 463
Default


Yes it is the main service panel. I looked at it more, there is only 1 bus. I wired what I wanted just like everything else. Was successful. Yes the ground and neutral were on the same bus but did not share same lug.
cincinnati guy is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to cincinnati guy For This Useful Post:
jbfan (01-06-2015)
Old 01-07-2015, 07:09 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 342
Rewards Points: 455
Default


Don't forget to pull a permit with IBI on that circuit buddy
Cletis is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
240v 40a oven breaker and wiring. mnbv0987 Electrical 20 04-17-2013 05:24 PM
3 way switch trips breaker over night Hazelberg Electrical 5 09-21-2012 09:34 PM
Landscape wiring question: GFCI and Breaker Amp MikeInDetroit Electrical 0 11-02-2011 09:43 AM
Tripped breaker after wiring a new dimmer, ok to use dimmer after correcting mistake? toobhed Electrical 7 09-20-2011 08:24 AM
Breaker box wiring question(s) janralix Electrical 6 08-29-2010 10:13 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts