Wiring Lights To Bedrooms - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Old 09-20-2010, 04:55 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 51
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Wiring lights to bedrooms


I currently have no lights in my bedrooms, I want to run wires so I can have lights.

I want to make a new circuit, while I'm up there, I was thinking about adding a light to the attic.

Is it possible to run a wire to the attic for the light, then from there run wires to each room?
ibjames is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 09-20-2010, 05:00 PM   #2
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 8,162
Rewards Points: 968
Default


Yes. If you can reach the attic from the panel you can do this.
__________________
Yes I am a pirate, two hundred years too late
The cannons don't thunder, there's nothing to plunder
I'm an over-forty victim of fate.
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 09-20-2010, 05:14 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 51
Rewards Points: 75
Default


ok.. so lets say I put a junction box in the attic, with no light, is that fine also?
ibjames is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 09-21-2010, 10:53 AM   #4
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 8,162
Rewards Points: 968
Default


As long as the box is accessible!
__________________
Yes I am a pirate, two hundred years too late
The cannons don't thunder, there's nothing to plunder
I'm an over-forty victim of fate.
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2010, 10:55 AM   #5
Super Moderator
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 18,824
Rewards Points: 23,990
Blog Entries: 11
Default


Being a bedroom it will required to AFCI protected.
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2010, 10:55 AM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 51
Rewards Points: 75
Default


ok, thanks, I just like to make sure before I do anything, on holmes on holmes, he always frowns if it isn't accessible from within the living space it seems
ibjames is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2010, 10:58 AM   #7
Just call me Andrew
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Albany, NY
Posts: 2,271
Rewards Points: 1,032
Default


I would much prefer a junction box in the attic - there is easy access to all rooms from there.

Post if you have questions on how to run your new circuit, and like Joed said, bedroom circuits need AFCI protection.
__________________
Andrew

secutanudu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2010, 11:13 AM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 51
Rewards Points: 75
Default


I just googled it

Does that look good?

http://www.ehow.com/how_4835951_inst...i-breaker.html

I'm beginning to think I need a wiring diagram
ibjames is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Running wiring at joists for pot lights georgeo Electrical 1 07-21-2010 06:10 AM
Question about wiring and voltage with switches and lights rswurth Electrical 17 06-20-2010 11:12 PM
Wiring for new bedrooms Sammy Weld Electrical 15 10-22-2008 03:49 PM
wiring recessed lights question. SubSailor Electrical 2 02-25-2008 12:39 PM
Wiring lights on vaulted ceilings Unregistered Electrical 4 01-31-2008 09:39 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts