Wiring House To Garage - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Old 05-31-2010, 09:10 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 6
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Wiring house to garage


Right now the hydro for my garage is separate from my house so i'm paying for 2 delivery charges. I want to run power from my house underground to my garage. My garage has a welder, fridge, freezer etc.
What type/ size of wire do I require to do this. The distance from between the two panels is 80-90 ft. Anything else I should be aware of?
Thanks
stonehaven is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 05-31-2010, 12:55 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: SoCal
Posts: 1,802
Rewards Points: 1,016
Default


Hi - where are you located? This will help others to help you better.
vsheetz is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 05-31-2010, 12:59 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 6
Rewards Points: 10
Default


In Ontario, Canada
stonehaven is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 05-31-2010, 05:14 PM   #4
Super Moderator
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 18,824
Rewards Points: 23,990
Blog Entries: 11
Default


What is the welder size? What size panel is in the garage now?
joed is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2010, 12:42 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 8,597
Rewards Points: 2,800
Default


A 4-3 with ground direct burial copper cable for up to 75 amps, or a 2-3 w/g for 100 amps.

Or separate wet area rated conductors in buried conduit.

With a 40 amp welder and just a 60 amp subpanel you'l be continually worrying about other things turned on and possibly overloading the feed from the house.

Psst! Many Canadian POCO's have "hydroelectric" in their names as a lot of the power is generated at dams and waterfalls.
__________________
Stick to your lawn watering schedule until it really starts to pour. After the storm you have only the same number of rest days you always had and then you need to start watering again.

Last edited by AllanJ; 06-01-2010 at 12:51 PM.
AllanJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2010, 09:26 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Canada (s/w ON.)
Posts: 2,294
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by AllanJ View Post
A 4-3 with ground direct burial copper cable for up to 75 amps, or a 2-3 w/g for 100 amps.

Or separate wet area rated conductors in buried conduit.

With a 40 amp welder and just a 60 amp subpanel you'l be continually worrying about other things turned on and possibly overloading the feed from the house.

Psst! Many Canadian POCO's have "hydroelectric" in their names as a lot of the power is generated at dams and waterfalls.
It started out that way in the beginning, now in Ontario its mostly nuclear.
Quebec and BC are hydro electric users!
Wildie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2010, 06:55 AM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 6
Rewards Points: 10
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by joed View Post
What is the welder size? What size panel is in the garage now?

50A Welder
125A Panel
stonehaven is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2010, 06:19 PM   #8
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Toronto Ontario
Posts: 1,165
Rewards Points: 500
Default


k i'll give you the by the book answer....bare with me lol.
125A seems a little excessive i'd downgrade that to 100A...plus double check that your main service is good for it before you start.
the 125A service requires 2 #2 R90XLPE hots and a #6 neutral under the new code. This can be a problem as the lugs need to be sized for this in the panel and personally i think it's just better to size your neutral the same as the hots.
cable depths(appologies for the decimal points but the codes in metric now)
with no mechanical protection (eg pressure treated plank)
23.6 inches in pedestrian areas
35.4 areas in vehicular traffic area's (driveway)
with mechanical protection
17.7 inches in pedestrian areas
29.5 in vehicular areas.
three inches of sand or screened earth above and below the pipe and a cation tape buried roughly halfway down.
Here's where things differ from the U.S alot
you can use a loadcenter here as long as you've got your 125A breaker in the main panel. There needs to be a grounding rod installed at the new building with a minimum #6 grounding conductor wired to the panel. The grounding conductor goes into the new panel, through the lug, and gets TIED INTO THE NEUTRAL BAR along with the neutral from the house.
I know alot of you are going to yell NO but i'm taking this right out of the CEC's newest version.
A quick check with your inspector might be a good idea as well because the distance of 80ft. could go either way depending in the mood their in they may want a larger conductor.


anything else just holler.....i got my new code book in the mail last week and need excuses to use it
andrew79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
wiring from existing panel to new garage al99m Electrical 8 07-29-2009 08:42 PM
Wiring project in my garage... Albatraz Electrical 4 05-20-2009 04:18 PM
Critique my wiring plan for my garage tigereye Electrical 10 03-24-2009 09:55 PM
Service line from house to garage.... question Todd-sta Electrical 24 11-10-2008 12:23 PM
1939 House Wiring upgrade jimmyfloyd Electrical 4 10-01-2008 03:56 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts