Wiring A Garage - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Old 05-30-2010, 10:39 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

wiring a garage


I'm going from my disconnect box with a 200 amp breaker to the garage with a 100 amp service I have ran 4 wires to hook it up am I doin this right and how should I connect these wire in to my panel I have 2 black wires,1 black wire w/ a white stripe and a green wire any ideas
khiggy is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 05-30-2010, 11:36 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 4,109
Rewards Points: 308
Default


Your question makes no sense. If the garage already has a 100 amp service then why run a feeder to it? I think the terminology is what is preventing me from understanding your question.

At the top of this page there is a search function. This subject is by far the most common subject ever. Just type in "Sub Panel" "Wire Garage" "Shed Power" ect..... There you will find a wealth of information on this subject.
J. V. is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 05-31-2010, 07:33 PM   #3
I=E/R
 
a7ecorsair's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,052
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by khiggy View Post
I'm going from my disconnect box with a 200 amp breaker to the garage with a 100 amp service I have ran 4 wires to hook it up am I doin this right and how should I connect these wire in to my panel I have 2 black wires,1 black wire w/ a white stripe and a green wire any ideas
First question is what size wire are you running to the garage and will it be buried or is the garage connected to your house? The green wire ground tells me you will be pulling this through conduit - yes? What did you buy for wire?
I'm assuming the main panel will have the 100 amp breaker and the sub-panel will just have circuit breakers - no disconnect. Remember, at the sub-panel the neutral and equipment ground cannot be connected.

Last edited by a7ecorsair; 06-01-2010 at 07:29 AM.
a7ecorsair is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wiring run from house to garage. Jim F Electrical 14 05-10-2010 12:42 PM
wiring code w.r.t. NEW folding stairs in garage attic fredsterl Electrical 4 09-25-2009 11:05 PM
Wiring garage workshop Kay Man Electrical 10 08-28-2008 12:04 PM
wiring garage clive Electrical 6 08-20-2008 12:36 PM
Wiring my garage with direct burial cable? Earl Smith Electrical 3 08-10-2008 06:28 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts