Wiring For A Commercial Cheese Vat From EU - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Display Modes
Old 02-16-2014, 11:42 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Wiring for a commercial cheese vat from EU


Hi everyone, I'm purchasing the pictured teak/stainless cheese vat from Holland. It's currently being refurbished and the builder is wondering what kind of electrical I'd like the motor wired for. The vat will go into a small grade A dairy several years down the road. The dairy hasn't been planned/built yet. Any help is greatly appreciated.

Thanks,
Mike
Attached Thumbnails
Wiring for a commercial cheese vat from EU-wood-cheese-vat-small.jpg  
Mikey Donuts is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-16-2014, 11:59 AM   #2
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,352
Rewards Points: 2,006
Default


I don't think there is enough information to give you an answer as you don't know what electrical service will be brought to the building. I would assume you would bring 277/480 3 Phase then install transformers for specific applications. Having it wired for 208V 3 Phase would be a pretty safe choice, but it could be cheaper to wire the circuit supplying it if it was wired at 480V. There is just too many unknowns to give you a specific answer.
__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to k_buz For This Useful Post:
Mikey Donuts (02-16-2014)
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-16-2014, 12:05 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 2,141
Rewards Points: 3,396
Default


Pretty cool.

Would make a nice bath or hot tub ....
ritelec is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to ritelec For This Useful Post:
Mikey Donuts (02-16-2014)
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-16-2014, 12:26 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default


Thanks for the replies. The builder is thinking 230v single phase for the motor. Would that work?

I'm not concerned with the building wiring right now as that can be figured out later and made to accommodate the equipment.
Mikey Donuts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2014, 01:13 PM   #5
Idiot Emeritus
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Fernley, Nevada (near Reno)
Posts: 1,910
Rewards Points: 80
Default


230 single phase would be the most universal voltage, provided it can operate on 208 volts as well. Most 230 volt motors are perfectly fine on 208, but since the actual supply in unknown, it'd be wise to plan for both.

Here's the standard voltages that would present at a dairy.

1) 120/240 single phase. Same as a house.

2) 120/240 3 4 wire ∆. Same as a house, but with the 3rd phase added in.

3) 120/208 3 wye. No 240 here, only 208.

4) 277/480 3 wye. No 240 here, it must be derived from a transformer. The transformer will yield one of the voltages listed above, most likely 120/208.

If the motor will operate on either 208 or 230 single phase, you're covered no matter what voltage the dairy is supplied with.

Rob

P.S. There are a number of advantages to using as 3 motor, but since the supply in not known, single phase is likely the best choice.
micromind is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to micromind For This Useful Post:
Mikey Donuts (02-16-2014)
Old 02-16-2014, 01:17 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 14
Rewards Points: 10
Default


You should request the electrical requirements of the vat from the seller before you plan a circuit.
davenc is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to davenc For This Useful Post:
Mikey Donuts (02-16-2014)
Old 02-16-2014, 01:35 PM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default


Thanks very much guys. I'll get with the seller again and see if I can get any more specifics on the motor.

Mike
Mikey Donuts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2014, 02:18 PM   #8
Super Moderator
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 20,153
Rewards Points: 31,618
Blog Entries: 11
Default


More importantly you want it wired for 60 Hertz, not the 50 hertz they use in the Europe.
joed is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to joed For This Useful Post:
micromind (02-16-2014), Mikey Donuts (02-16-2014), mpoulton (02-17-2014)
Old 02-16-2014, 02:27 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 2,141
Rewards Points: 3,396
Default


Not sure. 240v 415v 3 phase. 50 hz.

Might be a different thought to get needed hp of motor. And control schematic.

Let them keep the motor and controls and you rewire when you're ready.

Two cents.
ritelec is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to ritelec For This Useful Post:
Mikey Donuts (02-16-2014)
Old 02-16-2014, 10:03 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 733
Rewards Points: 808
Default


Holland and most of Europe use 230v to ground at 50HZ. Your best bet is to have a 208/240v volt tolerant, 60 HZ motor and controller installed.
IslandGuy is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to IslandGuy For This Useful Post:
micromind (02-16-2014)
Old 02-17-2014, 08:06 AM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hartfield VA
Posts: 36,821
Rewards Points: 18,784
Default


If you had of added your location profile and mentioned what county you planned on building this barn in there would have been less confusing, conflicting answers.
Just go to quick links to edit.
__________________
When posting in forums, letting us know your location will help others give better feedback/advice/solutions to your questions
joecaption is online now   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Backyard wiring questions MikeInDetroit Electrical 1 11-02-2011 09:46 AM
Landscape wiring question: GFCI and Breaker Amp MikeInDetroit Electrical 0 11-02-2011 09:43 AM
Old wiring to new wiring Acworld34 Electrical 3 07-11-2011 10:00 AM
Concrobium and knob and tube wiring WillK Electrical 13 02-28-2011 12:17 PM
electric wiring in house remodel wis_remod Electrical 6 04-02-2009 02:40 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts