Wiring In Attic - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Old 01-18-2010, 10:40 AM   #1
Weekend Warrior
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 38
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Wiring in Attic


Will be running 10 circuits perpendicular to the trusses on the floor of an unfinished attic (with pulldown stairs) above an attached garage. The runs will be next to the truss webs near the middle of the space. The middle third of the space has particle board flooring.

From what I can tell, I will need to use guard strips, running boards, or another type of cable protection for the wires where they cross over the trusses. Does anyone have suggestions for what to use?
H2O Engr is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-18-2010, 10:58 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 4,109
Rewards Points: 308
Default


If you had less cables I would have suggested drilling holes. Since you have so many cables (10), install running boards and staple the cables to them.
J. V. is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-18-2010, 01:39 PM   #3
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 164
Rewards Points: 150
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by J. V. View Post
If you had less cables I would have suggested drilling holes. Since you have so many cables (10), install running boards and staple the cables to them.
When you say the install running boards, can this be something like a 1 x 8 or a cut of piece of 1/2'' cdx plywood or is running board something else?

Once the running boards are down you can just use the large staples that you see hold electrical wires to say a vertical running 2 x 4 stud in a wall???

Hope this information helps all and the original post
canyonbc is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-18-2010, 03:21 PM   #4
nap
You talking to me?
 
nap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: sw mi
Posts: 7,551
Rewards Points: 6,290
Default


simply put: you need to guard the cables so they cannot be stepped on.


what to use? anything that is thicker than the cables and is stable if you stepped on it so it will not break or become dismounted and allow the cables to be damaged.

what you use is less important than simply complying with the required function.
nap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2010, 07:06 PM   #5
Weekend Warrior
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 38
Rewards Points: 25
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by nap View Post
what you use is less important than simply complying with the required function.
Exactly the kind of answer I was looking for. Thanks!
H2O Engr is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wiring Protection for Accessible Attic BillyDIY Electrical 6 11-05-2009 08:44 PM
wiring code w.r.t. NEW folding stairs in garage attic fredsterl Electrical 4 09-25-2009 11:05 PM
Attic wiring question everyman Electrical 4 07-07-2009 09:47 AM
Rules for wiring inside the attic amdspitfire Electrical 4 04-09-2008 08:48 PM
Running New Wiring to Attic PCC Electrical 12 02-08-2008 04:09 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts