Wired Up My Sub Panel (pics) - Electrical - Page 3 - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Old 03-09-2010, 12:27 PM   #31
Weekend Warrior
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 38
Rewards Points: 25
Default


For a feeder that short, replacing it with 1/0 AL to make it 100A would not cost too much. I installed a 60' length of #1 SER only to read that is it rated for 85A under NEC 2008. Rather than replacing the cable, I just installed the next size larger standard breaker (90A).
H2O Engr is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-09-2010, 12:31 PM   #32
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Indiana
Posts: 4,414
Rewards Points: 5,084
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by H2O Engr View Post
For a feeder that short, replacing it with 1/0 AL to make it 100A would not cost too much. I installed a 60' length of #1 SER only to read that is it rated for 85A under NEC 2008. Rather than replacing the cable, I just installed the next size larger standard breaker (90A).
That's acceptable if your calculated load is less than or equal to 85 amps, the ampacity of the cable.
brric is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-09-2010, 12:40 PM   #33
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 174
Rewards Points: 214
Default


I need to look on my receipt. The thing is when I bought the cable I told the guy that I wanted #2 copper for a 100amp sub panel that I was wiring. He said they only had aluminum. I said ok, I'll take aluminum and he looked at his chart and gave me the wire. I thought he told me it was rated for over 100amp. But then again I thought he called it #1. I am going there today to pick up the adapters to redo my neutral and ground and nipple. The thing is I untwisted the ground into 3 separate pieces to fit in the terminals and I won't be able to get them twisted tight again. I will have to buy another wire for my ground. What type wire and size should I get for my ground?

Thanks.
Abs777 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-09-2010, 12:57 PM   #34
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Indiana
Posts: 4,414
Rewards Points: 5,084
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by Abs777 View Post
I need to look on my receipt. The thing is when I bought the cable I told the guy that I wanted #2 copper for a 100amp sub panel that I was wiring. He said they only had aluminum. I said ok, I'll take aluminum and he looked at his chart and gave me the wire. I thought he told me it was rated for over 100amp. But then again I thought he called it #1. I am going there today to pick up the adapters to redo my neutral and ground and nipple. The thing is I untwisted the ground into 3 separate pieces to fit in the terminals and I won't be able to get them twisted tight again. I will have to buy another wire for my ground. What type wire and size should I get for my ground?

Thanks.
#8 Cu stranded or solid bare
brric is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2010, 05:03 PM   #35
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 174
Rewards Points: 214
Default


I checked out my receipt and it is SER 1/0-1/0-1/0-2 wire. I talked to the guy when I went and bought the lug adapters and he said it was rated from 100-135amps. So I think I am good there and don't need to change my wires. I am going to try to correct the neutral and ground with the adapters and that should take care of everything. I don't need a nipple or conduit between the two panels, do I?
Abs777 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2010, 05:09 PM   #36
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default


Yup 1/0 is Ok



Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2010, 06:17 PM   #37
retired elect/hvac/plumb
 
plummen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: south east of omaha/The island of misfit contractors
Posts: 2,921
Rewards Points: 2,020
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by busman View Post
What's holding the subpanel to the wall?? A single nail?? Construction adhesive?

Mark
yeah,i missed that!
plummen is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sub Panel install eagertolearn Electrical 17 01-23-2010 05:39 PM
100 -> 200 amp panel upgrade questions philipjcaputo Electrical 1 10-30-2009 03:35 AM
Installing new (service?) breaker panel and generator panel Nhrafan Electrical 6 04-01-2008 03:03 PM
Panel Placement In Outbuilding smitty286 Electrical 3 03-31-2008 12:20 PM
breaker panel question chadvavra Electrical 11 08-10-2007 09:20 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts