Wire Nuts W/ Holes In Top - Electrical - Page 2 - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Old 06-07-2010, 08:15 PM   #16
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Indiana
Posts: 4,413
Rewards Points: 5,082
Default


I stand corrected. Don't know where you got red wire nuts with holes in them.
brric is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-07-2010, 08:37 PM   #17
nap
You talking to me?
 
nap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: sw mi
Posts: 7,551
Rewards Points: 6,290
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by brric View Post
I stand corrected. Don't know where you got red wire nuts with holes in them.
it's probably those darn copper thieves. They were term a nuts and somebody stole the wire out of them.
nap is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-07-2010, 08:38 PM   #18
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default


Do all of the red wire nuts you bought have a hole in them ?



Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-07-2010, 08:44 PM   #19
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Indiana
Posts: 4,413
Rewards Points: 5,082
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by nap View Post
it's probably those darn copper thieves. They were term a nuts and somebody stole the wire out of them.
I was wondering the same thing. Or else somebody stole a batch of greenies and painted them red.
brric is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2010, 09:27 PM   #20
Knows everything but that
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Silver Spring, MD
Posts: 165
Rewards Points: 150
Default


HAHA They sure do. I took them back and exchanged them for what I originally was after. Im amazed they dont have some sort of major identifying mark on them. The only difference I could find between the packages was "Terminating End Wire Nuts" vs. just "Wire Nuts" Who knows? Thankfully, when I screwed the first one in and the wire started protruding from the end, I said "WTF" and came straight to you guys for help. This site is the best recourse for DIY with lots of gentleman here to help.

Shane
JakAHearts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2010, 09:41 PM   #21
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Indiana
Posts: 4,413
Rewards Points: 5,082
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by JakAHearts View Post
HAHA They sure do. I took them back and exchanged them for what I originally was after. Im amazed they dont have some sort of major identifying mark on them. The only difference I could find between the packages was "Terminating End Wire Nuts" vs. just "Wire Nuts" Who knows? Thankfully, when I screwed the first one in and the wire started protruding from the end, I said "WTF" and came straight to you guys for help. This site is the best recourse for DIY with lots of gentleman here to help.

Shane
Where did you get them?
brric is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2010, 09:50 PM   #22
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 8,597
Rewards Points: 2,800
Default


About the wirenuts with a pigtail pre-installed. What is the size of that pigtail? For example you cannot use them on a 20 amp circuit unless the pigtail is 12 gauge or heavier.

About the red wirenuts with the hole. They too have no use other than for ground wires. If the hole isn't big enough, only a wire without insulation will fit into the small end. Anyway it is quite difficult to insert a (separate) pigtail into the small end and get it properly tightened against the wires stuck in the large end let alone an insulated ungrounded conductor without leaving some bare wire showing.
__________________
Stick to your lawn watering schedule until it really starts to pour. After the storm you have only the same number of rest days you always had and then you need to start watering again.
AllanJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2010, 10:34 PM   #23
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 7,828
Rewards Points: 2,006
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by AllanJ View Post
About the wirenuts with a pigtail pre-installed. What is the size of that pigtail? For example you cannot use them on a 20 amp circuit unless the pigtail is 12 gauge or heavier.
Typically #10.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2010, 07:28 AM   #24
Knows everything but that
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Silver Spring, MD
Posts: 165
Rewards Points: 150
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by brric View Post
Where did you get them?
A small electronics place by my house.
JakAHearts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2010, 09:16 AM   #25
Handyman
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Oakville, Ont, Canada
Posts: 806
Rewards Points: 520
Default


Interesting thread! I'm not an electrician so sorry for this dumb question but what would those wire nuts be used for? Are they for splicing a third wire, like a ground wire, without cutting it?
canadaclub is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2010, 10:50 AM   #26
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 8,597
Rewards Points: 2,800
Default


Yes.

Quote:
What would those wire nuts be used for?
You need to attach the ground wire to the green screw on the switch or receptacle as well as attach it (and bond it) to the ground wire of the continuing cable if you are daisy chaining to the next receptacle or switch. The traditional way is to use a pigtail. Then someone had the bright idea of putting a hole in the small end of the wire nut so he could leave one of the incoming ground wires somewhat longer and have it stick out the small end to reach the green screw.

Then someone else had another bright idea, for folks who are not as dexterious manipulating pigtails. Provide a pigtail already attached to the wire nut, in case none of the incoming ground wires was long enough to reach, or for hot wires where the pigtail has to be insulated.

I have found these wire nuts handy for situations where I have say six or so ground wires and/or pigtails to wire nut together. I leave one incoming ground longer, put a wire nut (with the small hole) over it to attach some of the wires, then put a second wire nut on to attach the rest of the wires. There may even be enough wire coming out the small end of the second wire nut to attach to a green screw.
__________________
Stick to your lawn watering schedule until it really starts to pour. After the storm you have only the same number of rest days you always had and then you need to start watering again.

Last edited by AllanJ; 06-08-2010 at 10:59 AM.
AllanJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How do I wire these switches? keano016 Electrical 2 10-07-2009 10:19 AM
Wire Nuts jamiedolan Electrical 36 09-16-2009 11:41 AM
Outlet With Swith and Older (White, Black, Red) Wire CaptChaos Electrical 18 09-14-2009 11:17 PM
What is the best way to wire this? RST Electrical 8 08-18-2009 11:29 PM
New Dryer is 3 wire, receptacle is 4 Wire. thelimit Electrical 22 01-15-2009 09:59 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts