Wire Nuts W/ Holes In Top - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Old 06-07-2010, 01:12 PM   #1
Knows everything but that
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Silver Spring, MD
Posts: 165
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Wire nuts w/ holes in top


I picked up some new wire nuts yesterday and when I went to install them, one of the wires ends up sticking out of the top of the wiring nut. What is the point of this and isnt that rather dangerous? Maybe I bought something for a special application but I dont see anything specific on the packaging. Im afraid that when I push the wires and nuts back into the box that the black may end up lying against the metal box. Am I just paranoid?

Shane
JakAHearts is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-07-2010, 01:16 PM   #2
Sparkaholic
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Miami, Florida
Posts: 192
Rewards Points: 150
Send a message via Yahoo to sparks1up
Default


You bought the wrong wirenuts and you should not use them for live circuit wiring! They are green, right? And they are made for the ground wiring only with the hole in the top being used for a ground wire to go through and attach to the ground terminal on a device.
__________________
Answers based on the mood I am in when you ask!
sparks1up is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-07-2010, 01:24 PM   #3
Knows everything but that
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Silver Spring, MD
Posts: 165
Rewards Points: 150
Default


Well, no, theyre not green. Theyre red but returning them sounds like a good plan. :D
JakAHearts is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-07-2010, 03:07 PM   #4
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Indiana
Posts: 4,413
Rewards Points: 5,082
Default


Those are used for pigtailing. Use the wire nut to connect the conductors together in the j-box. Connect the other end to the switch or recep.
brric is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2010, 03:51 PM   #5
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 7,828
Rewards Points: 2,006
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by JakAHearts View Post
Well, no, theyre not green. Theyre red but returning them sounds like a good plan. :D
I've NEVER seen a wire nut with a hole in the top that was not green.

Can you post the info from the package? I am very curious to see what these are.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2010, 03:58 PM   #6
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Indiana
Posts: 4,413
Rewards Points: 5,082
Default


http://www.idealindustries.com/produ...ut_pigtail.jsp
brric is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2010, 04:58 PM   #7
Super Moderator
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 18,822
Rewards Points: 23,986
Blog Entries: 11
Default


No hole in those wire nuts. The pigtail is already attached.
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2010, 04:58 PM   #8
Sparkaholic
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Miami, Florida
Posts: 192
Rewards Points: 150
Send a message via Yahoo to sparks1up
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by brric View Post
That is not what the OP is describing
__________________
Answers based on the mood I am in when you ask!
sparks1up is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2010, 05:01 PM   #9
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Indiana
Posts: 4,413
Rewards Points: 5,082
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by sparks1up View Post
That is not what the OP is describing
That's exactly what he is describing.
brric is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2010, 05:06 PM   #10
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 7,828
Rewards Points: 2,006
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by JakAHearts View Post
I picked up some new wire nuts yesterday and when I went to install them, one of the wires ends up sticking out of the top of the wiring nut.
Brric, you think he is describing Term-a-Nuts?
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2010, 05:13 PM   #11
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Indiana
Posts: 4,413
Rewards Points: 5,082
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by Speedy Petey View Post
Brric, you think he is describing Term-a-Nuts?
Of course he is. He says there is a wire sticking out.
brric is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2010, 05:32 PM   #12
Sparkaholic
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Miami, Florida
Posts: 192
Rewards Points: 150
Send a message via Yahoo to sparks1up
Default


No, read the title of the thread "Wirenuts with holes"

And when he installs them the wire sticks out through the hole
__________________
Answers based on the mood I am in when you ask!
sparks1up is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2010, 05:44 PM   #13
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Indiana
Posts: 4,413
Rewards Points: 5,082
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by sparks1up View Post
No, read the title of the thread "Wirenuts with holes"

And when he installs them the wire sticks out through the hole
Give me a break.
brric is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2010, 05:45 PM   #14
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 7,828
Rewards Points: 2,006
Default


Jak, please clear this up!
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2010, 07:59 PM   #15
Knows everything but that
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Silver Spring, MD
Posts: 165
Rewards Points: 150
Default


Wow, didnt mean to get everyone in a brawl here. Sorry Brric but it looks like youre on the losing end of things here. There is no wire sticking out of the nut until after I am installing it. Looking over my original post, I see how you were confused. Thanks everyone for all your help. Any information is good information! :D

Shane
JakAHearts is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How do I wire these switches? keano016 Electrical 2 10-07-2009 10:19 AM
Wire Nuts jamiedolan Electrical 36 09-16-2009 11:41 AM
Outlet With Swith and Older (White, Black, Red) Wire CaptChaos Electrical 18 09-14-2009 11:17 PM
What is the best way to wire this? RST Electrical 8 08-18-2009 11:29 PM
New Dryer is 3 wire, receptacle is 4 Wire. thelimit Electrical 22 01-15-2009 09:59 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts