Wire Method Through Brick - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Old 12-18-2010, 05:49 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 13
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Wire Method Through Brick


Hello All,

I need to add an exterior outlet to the front of my house. 1925 solid brick house with crawlspace. My plan is to run NM through the crawlspace from a GFCI outlet in the basement to a junction box, then UF through the brick into the back of the outlet box.

Do I need to do anything with the UF of other than just run it through the brick? Person at home depot said I would need to protect it somehow. That's the first I've heard of that, so I'mm looking for some further info.

Thanks! (I looked on here, but my search skills failed me)
DenverBob is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-18-2010, 06:18 PM   #2
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 8,156
Rewards Points: 958
Default


You don't need to do anything else.
__________________
Yes I am a pirate, two hundred years too late
The cannons don't thunder, there's nothing to plunder
I'm an over-forty victim of fate.
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-18-2010, 06:28 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Albany, GA
Posts: 302
Rewards Points: 262
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by DenverBob View Post
Hello All,

I need to add an exterior outlet to the front of my house. 1925 solid brick house with crawlspace. My plan is to run NM through the crawlspace from a GFCI outlet in the basement to a junction box, then UF through the brick into the back of the outlet box.

Do I need to do anything with the UF of other than just run it through the brick? Person at home depot said I would need to protect it somehow. That's the first I've heard of that, so I'mm looking for some further info.

Thanks! (I looked on here, but my search skills failed me)

The guy told you that UF through the wall was unacceptable, but didn't try to sell you any conduit? Doesn't sound like much of a salesman to me...

If you're really concerned about it, you could bore a hole through the brick and then use PVC conduit through the wall between the two boxes, as long as you get a perpendicular bore hole.
clashley is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-18-2010, 07:32 PM   #4
Just call me Andrew
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Albany, NY
Posts: 2,271
Rewards Points: 1,032
Default


I don't think you need to transition to UF if the wire is going directly into an outdoor outlet. I think it is still considered indoors until you route the wire to a different location on the exterior of the house.

That outlet should be a Weather Resistant type (marked WR in blue). I believe those outlets are also GFCI, but they make non-gfci WR outlets if you plan to feed it from the load side of an exisiting GFCI. It should also be an in-use type (or bubble) cover.
__________________
Andrew

secutanudu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2010, 07:16 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 13
Rewards Points: 10
Default


Thanks everyone, I'm gonna stick to my original plan. Good to know I'm not totally obsolete!
DenverBob is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
240v conduit with different gauge wires... Biospot Electrical 7 12-14-2010 07:07 PM
Insulating brick above & close to grade Peter Shepherd Building & Construction 1 09-16-2009 06:41 AM
New Stove, old wires - 2 wire vs 3 wire DIYGST Electrical 22 03-02-2009 04:13 PM
hooking up dryer....bronx ny code SURFBUG Appliances 6 10-14-2008 09:41 PM
electrick wire next to vent or brick chimney? ptcamaro Electrical 2 04-01-2008 10:28 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts