Will This Be Ok? - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Old 08-20-2010, 04:49 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: georgia
Posts: 345
Rewards Points: 356
Default

will this be ok?


I have a 220-240v? 1 h.p. submerssible well pump. I asked my well guy and it is ok to run 10g wire for this up to 630'. The pump is 240' down w/ 10g wire running up to a control box. I need to run 10g wire from control box, about 300' to a temp power pole and run pump for a FEW HRS. I have about 200' of 10g wire, i will then have to hard wire the end onto a plug, plug into a 10g extension cord (or two) and then again cut a piece of 10g wire and hard wire into plug for end of extension cord and hard wire other end to 220 breaker. My question is, could all these connections cause too much of a drop and damage pump?

Last edited by ugabulldog; 08-20-2010 at 04:58 PM.
ugabulldog is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 08-20-2010, 05:18 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default


At 630' you will have a 15v drop @ 10a

At 14a the voltage drop will be 21v



Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 08-20-2010, 05:39 PM   #3
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 12,407
Rewards Points: 3,658
Default


For a few hours a portable generator might be easier.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 08-20-2010, 05:54 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Saskatoon Sk. Canada
Posts: 864
Rewards Points: 648
Default


Ask a neighbour about borrowing a generator.Shouldn't cost more than a few beer for rental.
daveb1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2010, 11:48 PM   #5
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default


If you going to run just couple hours it will be easier to just rent or borrow the generator for while if you going to hardwire for perament connection you will need much larger conductors

With that distance you will need 10mm˛ { #8 AWG } copper or 16mm˛ { #6 AWG } Alum to keep the votlage drop to the minuim.

Merci.
Marc
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Top of Page | View New Posts