Where Is Ground On Recessed Can Led Trim Kit - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Old 11-09-2014, 11:14 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 79
Rewards Points: 32
Default

Where is ground on recessed can led trim kit


I purchase halo h750ricat cans and halo led trim kits. I cannot find a place to mount trim kit grounding screw anywhere in the can. Anyone run into this before?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
ivanjay205 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-09-2014, 11:46 AM   #2
Member
 
Oso954's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Northern Calif.
Posts: 8,628
Rewards Points: 1,152
Default


They list 3 different attachment methods. Which one you use depends on the make and model can that you have.
Attached Thumbnails
Where is ground on recessed can led trim kit-rl560in.jpg  
Oso954 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-09-2014, 12:22 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 2,141
Rewards Points: 3,396
Default


I was curious where did you find that cut sheet?

Looks like a regular frame in kit that would have a pigtail to the junction box enclosure.

. http://www.westsidewholesale.com/hal...XmdRoCm5_w_wcB
ritelec is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-09-2014, 12:29 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 79
Rewards Points: 32
Default


So I saw that with the instructions. Is that slot the space where the clips were? I just screw it in there? There is no threaded space.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
ivanjay205 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2014, 12:53 PM   #5
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Indiana
Posts: 4,493
Rewards Points: 5,242
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by ritelec View Post
I was curious where did you find that cut sheet?

Looks like a regular frame in kit that would have a pigtail to the junction box enclosure.

. http://www.westsidewholesale.com/hal...XmdRoCm5_w_wcB
Its an h750ricat remodel can. It hasnothing to do with the jbox egc. The trim has a pigtail to be connected when the trim is installed.
http://www.cooperindustries.com/cont...141507-sss.pdf

Last edited by brric; 11-09-2014 at 12:57 PM.
brric is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2014, 12:59 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 2,141
Rewards Points: 3,396
Default


http://www.homedepot.com/catalog/pdf...44196777ed.pdf


Lol.

Ground to trim???
ritelec is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2014, 01:07 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 2,141
Rewards Points: 3,396
Default


Thanks for the link. I see the approved trims but don't get where it needs to be grounded. Just seeing a screw in A base.

Letting it go.
ritelec is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2014, 01:07 PM   #8
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Indiana
Posts: 4,493
Rewards Points: 5,242
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by ritelec View Post
What's so funny?
brric is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2014, 01:08 PM   #9
Member
 
Oso954's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Northern Calif.
Posts: 8,628
Rewards Points: 1,152
Default


Quote:
I was curious where did you find that cut sheet?
It is snipped from the instructions for the Halo LED RL560 module.
You can view or download the full instructions at:
https://www.1000bulbs.com/pdf/halo-r...structions.pdf

You are not grounding a "trim", you are providing a good ground to the LED driver in the module.
Oso954 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Oso954 For This Useful Post:
ritelec (11-09-2014)
Old 11-09-2014, 01:12 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 2,141
Rewards Points: 3,396
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by brric View Post
What's so funny?
That number brought me to a new work frame in. Also to a old work frame in. Not to any trim. The trims I saw from the link did not show a separate ground that needed connection.

Let it go. Not a bigger.
ritelec is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2014, 01:14 PM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 2,141
Rewards Points: 3,396
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by Oso954 View Post
Ok.
ritelec is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2014, 06:55 PM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 79
Rewards Points: 32
Default


So I did screw it to the best place I could find. I have to be honest not nearly as secure as I would like it as nothing is threaded... And nothing to really screw into. But all is working and since no one will touch it hopefully it will maintain good contact


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
ivanjay205 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ground wire from panel to ground rod swbrains Electrical 46 09-03-2014 05:05 AM
Recessed lighting trim interchangability? Badfish740 Electrical 5 11-28-2012 01:39 PM
How to remove trim from recessed lighting? (Yes, I'm a newbie) Babalu Electrical 5 09-30-2011 09:40 PM
Recessed Light Trim not flush - tips? sctazmon Electrical 8 10-11-2010 08:20 AM
Installing recessed light trim helpless handyman Electrical 18 07-30-2009 04:35 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts