What Does It Take To Become A Certified Electrician? - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Old 08-17-2009, 09:16 PM   #1
Wire Chewer
 
Red Squirrel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 3,550
Rewards Points: 528
Default

What does it take to become a certified electrician?


I had a thought come to mind that it would be cool to do small electrical jobs on the side. The stuff most electricians just don't want to be bothered with or charge a lot for while they are busy with the big jobs.

It's more or less a thought that came to mind and not something I really plan to do, but if I was to go ahead with this, what are the requirements to be able to legally do basic electrical work in others' homes such as changing plugs, switches, running wire, changing fixtures etc? Guessing I need a certain amount of hours with a certified electrician, and guessing I MUST go through some course and can't just "challenge" some test.

Obviously I'd want to read up more on electrical and also get more familiar with codes.

Out of all DIY things electrical is one thing that I've always been decent at, and I've been learning a lot here as well. When I first got into electrical (at the age of like 10) I did not know things like how AC worked, or what the difference between neutral/hot was (I just called them negative and positive lol).

I most likely wont go with this as I'm sure there's quite a lot involved and I can't just start some business called "sparky squirrel's electrical co" and legally do jobs. :p Hmm that has a ring to it though. "Sparky squirrel's electrical co: We do a shocking good job!"
Red Squirrel is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 08-17-2009, 10:50 PM   #2
nap
You talking to me?
 
nap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: sw mi
Posts: 7,551
Rewards Points: 6,290
Default


and your logo could be a squirrel inside a little hamster wheel hooked to a generator making power!!


not sure who around here is familiar with Canadian laws and requirements. If you don't get a bit on this every so often, post to it to bump it back up on the new post list. Not everybody is around daily.
nap is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 08-17-2009, 11:14 PM   #3
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default


Red Squrell .,

Just hang on I know one of our readers from Cananda he will chime in sooner or later he may help you with the info you need to know I know one reader in here is Joed I think he is in the same providice as you are in.

Merci,Marc
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 08-17-2009, 11:35 PM   #4
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 63
Rewards Points: 75
Default


You must go through the appprenticeship program, which after you complete, you write the interprovincial red seal exam. It takes about 4 years, after which you can pretty much work anywhere in Canada. I just completed it here in BC, and am happy to report that I am now a fully ticketed Journeyman!!!!
BCSparkyGirl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2009, 11:38 PM   #5
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 63
Rewards Points: 75
Default


Here is some info for Ontario that should give you some help to get on your way....

http://www.ecao.org/contractor.html
BCSparkyGirl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2009, 02:21 AM   #6
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 16
Rewards Points: 10
Default


Not to derail the thread, but out of curiosity, what's the process like for this question in regards to the US? I have educational opportunities opening up again through my employer if I can make the case that it's of value to the company. Are licenses different for residential and commercial electricians?
j. pierce is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2009, 08:05 AM   #7
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by j. pierce View Post
Not to derail the thread, but out of curiosity, what's the process like for this question in regards to the US? I have educational opportunities opening up again through my employer if I can make the case that it's of value to the company. Are licenses different for residential and commercial electricians?
There are few approved course you can take for appteranice electrician and how long? that part it will varies a little depending on which state you are in and some case the company can able pay you to go in the training to become electrician once you pass that part then you will become journeyperson after 4 years and 8000 hours you can take the master electrician license.

Yes there is different license "classifaction " between resdentail and commercal/industrail electrician plus restricted and nonrestricted as well.

some states don't have this seperateation classifaction at all but I know majorty of the states do have it and to find it more details you will have to check with your state officals for more details there is pretty wide details it will cover here.

Merci,Marc
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2009, 11:41 AM   #8
Member
 
J. V.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 4,129
Rewards Points: 348
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by j. pierce View Post
Not to derail the thread, but out of curiosity, what's the process like for this question in regards to the US? I have educational opportunities opening up again through my employer if I can make the case that it's of value to the company. Are licenses different for residential and commercial electricians?
In some jurisdictions in the US you need nothing to do jobs bid under a certain amount of money. I read a thread on another forum and the guy was from Alabama. He said they had no requirements at all in his area. (he has a license) and then told me that in another area that if the job was under 25,000, you also did not need any type of certification. I think he said all you need is a business license that anyone could pick up at the court house for a small fee.

Congrats to the "Girl" lady that just got her Journeymans.
J. V. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2009, 12:01 PM   #9
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 5,341
Rewards Points: 2,652
Default


It certainly isn't just going and passing a test then ...bingo...your an electrician. In my area if you are employed for a licensed contractor you do not need to be licensed yourself but you must be in an approved apprentice ship with that contractor to eventually get your license to do legal work on your own. It generally takes a masters license to pull your own permits here. However you can work under a homeowner permit with a residential wiremans license once you pass that test. Some just skip it and go for their masters so it doesn't become a problem when a homeowner shys from getting his own permit. You will need a certain amount of classroom hours and a certain amount of on job hours doing various aspects related to being an electrician all documented by your employer. This takes around 4 to 6 years on average. Basically you need to change jobs to achieve becoming a licensed electrician. BTW being physically fit will help....
__________________
" One nice thing about the NEC articles ... you have lots of choices"

Stubbie
Stubbie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2009, 12:10 PM   #10
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 63
Rewards Points: 75
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by J. V. View Post
Congrats to the "Girl" lady that just got her Journeymans.

Thanks J.V.!!!
BCSparkyGirl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2009, 12:47 PM   #11
Member
 
J. V.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 4,129
Rewards Points: 348
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by BCSparkyGirl View Post
Thanks J.V.!!!
Sorry, I could not see your forum name as I was in the advanced reply section. Thats why I called you "Girl" and lady. I bet both apply.......John
J. V. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2009, 06:38 PM   #12
Household Handyman
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Albany, Ga.
Posts: 2,480
Rewards Points: 1,412
Default


Getting an "electricians" license in Georgia got harder July 01, 2008. It used to be that you could just get the license in any county in Ga. you were working in. NOW-you are required to have a State License which works in all of Ga.'s county's. There are different license levels to an "Electrical License" in Ga. now also. I believe there are three (3) different levels, Apprentice, Journeyman, and Master, with Master having high voltage and instrumentation levels. (I'll get corrected if I'm wrong on this for sure). The original plan was to serve a minimum four years as an apprentice before taking the Journeyman's test, and then "x" number of years before taking the Masters test. NOW- I have information that all I need to do is pay a school that is licensed by the State of Ga. to take classes from them, then take the State test for each level as needed. J.V. also has it close as to how it works in GA. I own/operate a business doing "Household Handyman" work with multi-county issued "Occupational Tax Certificates". This means that under State Laws I can do work in multi-trades IF the entire job does not exceed $2500 per job. This include electrical repair BUT NOT running new service. Carpentry, and plumbing are somewhat wide open as long as the job does not exceed the $2500/job. All of this makes even me wonder if it's right or not. Thanks, David
Thurman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2009, 07:23 PM   #13
Wire Chewer
 
Red Squirrel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 3,550
Rewards Points: 528
Default


Nice to know what it takes. Obviously no time for that now, it would have been something to do out of school if I wanted to go that route. Funny as when I was a kid I actually wanted to be an electrician, then ended up in IT. Guess if ever I get sick of IT it's a potential career path to consider.
Red Squirrel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2009, 07:59 PM   #14
Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Brooklyn, New York (NYC)
Posts: 1,124
Rewards Points: 500
Thumbs up

Illusion of excitement in electrical (construction) work


Quote:
Originally Posted by Red Squirrel View Post
Nice to know what it takes. Obviously no time for that now, it would have been something to do out of school if I wanted to go that route. Funny as when I was a kid I actually wanted to be an electrician, then ended up in IT. Guess if ever I get sick of IT it's a potential career path to consider.
The "Feel-Good" part of doing electrical work is designing and successfully executing jobs.There's very little excitement in chopping (albeit with electric hammer) brick or plaster in 90o weather. Or hanging Chandeliers and going home wondering (in bed) if the luminaire is still UP or it landed on the table or the floor (just kidding about the latter part. In 30years+, not (even) one fixture or ceiling fan that I hung up came down of its own free will). Again, the good feeling when completing a project (and getting paid) is what keeps the world going 'round. (Now more than ever)Don't Drink and Drive!!!
spark plug is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2009, 08:30 PM   #15
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Atlanta, Ga/Hamilton, Al
Posts: 2,487
Rewards Points: 2,350
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by spark plug View Post
Again, the good feeling when completing a project (and getting paid) is what keeps the world going 'round. (Now more than ever)Don't Drink and Drive!!!
I used to feel good about a job-well-done. Now I just like getting paid
InPhase277 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
complicating-updating new box for client, electrician messed it up-pics included Kraze Electrical 29 11-18-2012 09:14 PM
Electrical box replace,addiitions, city permits and looking for an electrician ramchy Electrical 3 08-02-2009 11:12 AM
Can I pre-run romex before the electrician shows up? jheavner Electrical 14 10-10-2008 01:00 PM
help electrician failed to show.NEWB post gotsig Electrical 25 05-26-2008 09:28 PM
North Carolina Electrician assistance please buloni Electrical 2 12-03-2005 08:07 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts