What Breaker Can Be Used To Replace These? - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By Oso954
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Old 10-17-2019, 08:20 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 38
Rewards Points: 40
Default

What breaker can be used to replace these?


So I am having trouble finding the exact models of the breakers pictured below (#15 and #17, and #48). Can other models be used in their replacement? Thanks!
Attached Thumbnails
What breaker can be used to replace these?-b212c08e-b4ce-45fc-bf03-da5ae8cbf515_1571314795396.jpg   What breaker can be used to replace these?-90b7515b-36bf-4a2c-9576-e0cf49d2a428_1571314831521.jpg  
Scm495 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 10-17-2019, 08:33 AM   #2
A "Handy Husband"
 
rjniles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Carolina Low Country
Posts: 10,389
Rewards Points: 202
Default

Re: What breaker can be used to replace these?


Those are full sized GE breakers. Why do you want to replace them? There are tandem breakers that could replace them if your panel is rated for them. There are also GFCI or AFCI breakers that can be used.

Sent from my RCT6213W22 using Tapatalk
__________________
My electrical answers are based on 2014 NEC, you may have local amendments.

Location: Coastal South Carolina
rjniles is online now   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 10-17-2019, 10:13 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: Kremmling, CO about 7500'
Posts: 1,456
Rewards Points: 884
Default

Re: What breaker can be used to replace these?


Look on your panel's door. It should list what breaker type it will take.

You might not find the exact model of breaker that is in your panel as breakers are continuously being upgraded. however, they are typical backward compatible.

You want to look for something like THQL or QL, THQP or QP or similar designations.

But as @rjniles asked, why are you wanting to change them? Do you want to go to GFI or AFCI breakers? or do you need more space and want to go to thinline?
__________________
The only stupid question is the one you DON'T ask!

ktownskier is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 10-17-2019, 10:49 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 38
Rewards Points: 40
Default


It’s fried
Scm495 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2019, 11:10 AM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Livonia, Michigan
Posts: 375
Rewards Points: 750
Default

Re: What breaker can be used to replace these?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Scm495 View Post
It’s fried

If the panel is fried, then I would replace with a Square-D panel and breakers - NOT GE. Out of the 6 panel types readily available today, GE is the lowest quality and highest failure rate. G.E., we bring bad things to life!
BluegrassGuy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2019, 11:35 AM   #6
Member
 
Oso954's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Northern Calif.
Posts: 8,396
Rewards Points: 690
Default

Re: What breaker can be used to replace these?


I think those are THHQB breakers. GE bolt on breakers.
You won’t find them in a big box store. An electrical supply house that carries GE should have them in stock.
Or, you can order them from Amazon.

How did you determine that the breakers are fried ?
Mike Milam likes this.
Oso954 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Top of Page | View New Posts