What Box Size Is Required Here? - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Old 10-19-2010, 09:27 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Ontario Canada
Posts: 10
Rewards Points: 10
Default

What Box size is required here?


I intend to install a piece of 1 1/4" from an LB through a block wall and then into the back of a box. Then I'll run 3/3 lomex from the side of the box to the panel.

What size box is required?

and,

Can or should I use a PVC box (this in inside my house)?
StarGehzer is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 10-20-2010, 10:29 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 4,109
Rewards Points: 308
Default


Whats 3/3 lomex?
J. V. is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 10-20-2010, 10:38 AM   #3
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 12,413
Rewards Points: 3,662
Default


IIRC lomex is Canadien NM.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 10-20-2010, 09:49 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Ontario Canada
Posts: 10
Rewards Points: 10
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim Port View Post
IIRC lomex is Canadien NM.
Yup, sorry, I should have been clear.

Too cramped to get the conduit into the panel so I plan on using a NM cable to get in.
StarGehzer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2010, 08:04 AM   #5
Electrician
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Winnipeg, Manitoba
Posts: 1,352
Rewards Points: 910
Default


I would go with a 6x6, either PVC or metal it doesn't really matter. You will have to check the box of the biggest marrete you find and see if it is rated for 2 #3 wires. If it doesn't fit you can buy splices(the actual name is avoiding me right now). It is a little plastic block with two allen keys on it, you put one wire under each screw and that is your joint.
darren is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2010, 08:11 AM   #6
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 12,413
Rewards Points: 3,662
Default


Darren, does Polaris or Insul-tap sound familiar?

__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2010, 11:11 AM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Ontario Canada
Posts: 10
Rewards Points: 10
Default


Thanks Darren...

Instead of marrettes I was thinking of something like this and a wad of rubber tape. http://www.cornerhardware.com/images/17/17088.jpg

StarGehzer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2010, 11:13 AM   #8
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default


I know Darren mention 6X6 junction box however I feel that is pretty tight escpally if you used #3 conductor size for myself I will go with 8X8X4 junction box size it will give you little more room to work around.

Yeah they do come in both plastique and metal box verison but with metal box you will have to ground it properly.

Merci.
Marc
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2010, 01:29 PM   #9
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 12,413
Rewards Points: 3,662
Default


While the pic of the split bolt posted by Stargazer would work, they are quite a bit of labor to install correctly and take time. The pre-insulated connectors are very reliable and much easier to install. They are also easier to remove should you need to make a change.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2010, 11:21 AM   #10
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Ontario Canada
Posts: 10
Rewards Points: 10
Default


Thanks Guys...
Am I correct that a 6x6x4 is ok by code, but an 8x8x4 box makes my life easier? (I like easy.. thats why my underground conduit is 1 1/2")

I'll look into those insulated conectors. I've never seen ones for larger conductors, only for small wires like phone lines.
StarGehzer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2010, 01:07 PM   #11
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 12,413
Rewards Points: 3,662
Default


The big box stores will not have the pre-insulated in my experience. You need to go to an electrical supply house.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2010, 09:20 PM   #12
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by StarGehzer View Post
Thanks Guys...
Am I correct that a 6x6x4 is ok by code, but an 8x8x4 box makes my life easier? (I like easy.. thats why my underground conduit is 1 1/2")

I'll look into those insulated conectors. I've never seen ones for larger conductors, only for small wires like phone lines.
The insulated connectors are typically found in electrical supply centre but big box store that kinda a long shot very few will stock this big a size but uninsluated verison yeah I have see it.

Merci.
Marc
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What size beam to support loft with 16' between supports paperman Building & Construction 3 10-06-2009 05:40 PM
Capacity loss with line size Einride HVAC 1 06-29-2009 03:10 PM
pre-hung door, 32x80 is that door size or total size? RyanD Building & Construction 3 06-28-2009 10:33 PM
what size trowel for 4 1/4 x 4 1/4 tiles? Jim W Building & Construction 5 06-21-2009 09:27 PM
Room size X floor tile size deck hand Flooring 4 04-08-2009 04:42 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts