Well House Electric Quit - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Old 06-06-2009, 12:55 PM   #1
mkm
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 10
Default

well house electric quit


We thought our well pump went out, but now we have figured out that the electric to the well house in not happening. It is good at our house but checking it at the well it is not working. It is buried underground-We have live here over twenty years. Ever heard of that? What could have happened? Anyway of finding out without having to rent a trencher? thanks for any help.
mkm is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-06-2009, 05:47 PM   #2
DIYer
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Virginia
Posts: 910
Rewards Points: 500
Default


Is it in conduit or buried cable?

Buried cable... the ground can shift in 20 years and a rock could cut it. Conduit should be good for 20 years, but anything is possible.

You should run a wire above the ground and check the continuity with a tester from the ends of the run.
Gigs is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-06-2009, 05:57 PM   #3
Member
 
300zx's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 630
Rewards Points: 500
Post


Is it Direct Burial Wire if so ,Without Digging the wire up its going to be hard to tell. Have you dug any holes or post in ground lately if so check them spots. Otherwise call an electrician they have special equipment to locate break in wire.
300zx is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-07-2009, 12:07 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NW of D.C.
Posts: 5,990
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default


This is a pretty good application for TDR; it will find the break within a tenth of a foot.
Yoyizit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2009, 11:25 AM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 4,110
Rewards Points: 310
Default


Run a temporary cord out to the pump and see if that corrects the problem, or measure the voltage at the pump end with the pump connected. If you have no power, one or more of the cable or wires are open. If it's buried cable do not waste your time trying to locate the break. Just dig a new trench and put PVC conduit in instead of direct burial wire. 20 years old. I would replace, not repair.
J. V. is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
replumbing an old house simonfrog Plumbing 7 01-30-2012 05:45 AM
Attic Fan AND Whole House Fan PapaGnome HVAC 6 02-15-2009 03:28 PM
Converting duplex to single family--what to do with electric services? zamoti Electrical 32 01-29-2009 04:16 PM
EXcessive moisture in house geema HVAC 5 09-10-2008 12:18 PM
Is a 40 Gallon water heater electric enough for a 1 bath house (2 people). twilightcall Plumbing 6 08-06-2008 10:11 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts