Weather-responsive High Voltage Remote Shutoff - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Like Tree2Likes
  • 1 Post By Oso954
  • 1 Post By dmxtothemax

Old 11-05-2019, 10:36 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 8

Weather-responsive High Voltage Remote Shutoff

I have a private, 1.5 mile power line powering a house and a well in California in a high fire risk area. We maintain the line carefully and prune trees around it regularly. But! High winds can happen, and I really don't want to burn down the county. (Yes, the power line is owned by us, not the power company. They do own a meter at the end of the line.)

I'd like to set up an automatic system that can shut off the entire line on demand. I'm a software engineer and can set up the conditions for shutting it off easily (wind speed, weather forecast, SMS, etc.).

What's the best way (that meets code) to shut off a high voltage line on demand? I'll happily pay an electrician to do the work, just need to know what to ask them to install.
potifer is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 11-06-2019, 12:13 AM   #2

Rewards Points: 7,852

Re: Weather-responsive High Voltage Remote Shutoff

What sort of high voltage are we talking about ?
what voltage please and what currents ?
dmxtothemax is online now   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 11-06-2019, 03:07 AM   #3
Electrician

Rewards Points: 10

If this is medium voltage this is gonna be an exspensive project to automate.

Why not get a manual cut out switch installed?

Sent from my SM-G920W8 using Tapatalk
Advertisement

Old 11-06-2019, 06:29 AM   #4

Rewards Points: 1,626

standard manual cut-out switch + permanent rod assembly, and add a system to pull the rod by motor, don't know if it would be accepted
carmusic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2019, 08:40 AM   #5