Waterproof Boxes In Brick Veneer? - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Old 11-17-2015, 04:56 PM   #1
MEASURE ONCE, CUT TWICE
 
123pugsy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: MARKHAM, ON
Posts: 4,200
Rewards Points: 1,566
Default

Waterproof Boxes In Brick Veneer?


My friend used regular metal device boxes in his brick veneer and they passed inspection on his new house build. I'm building a new house as well.

I'm curious as to what you guys use and why would a non waterproof box be OK? Or is it OK? I have a copy of our electrical code but it's a jumbled up mess as far as I can see. Hard to locate specific things.

We must use GFCI's or protect with a CFCI breaker of course.
A weather proof cover on the receptacles also.

ESA does the inspections here. Of course my inspector never answers the phone and his message says don't leave a message, ha.
__________________
Pugsy...my project: http://www.diychatroom.com/f49/total...storey-276978/
123pugsy is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-17-2015, 04:59 PM   #2
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 12,633
Rewards Points: 3,740
Default


I would use a metal masonry box. This is what they are made for.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Jim Port For This Useful Post:
123pugsy (11-17-2015), mm11 (11-18-2015)
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-17-2015, 05:09 PM   #3
Super Moderator
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 19,786
Rewards Points: 30,888
Blog Entries: 11
Default


The only reference I could find in the code relating to wet location receptacles is that they must have a wet location cover. I could not find any reference to wet rated boxes.
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-17-2015, 05:15 PM   #4
MEASURE ONCE, CUT TWICE
 
123pugsy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: MARKHAM, ON
Posts: 4,200
Rewards Points: 1,566
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim Port View Post
I would use a metal masonry box. This is what they are made for.
Thanks.

I've never seen a box specifically for masonry.
Up here in Canada, we don't have a ton of products that are available to you all.
__________________
Pugsy...my project: http://www.diychatroom.com/f49/total...storey-276978/
123pugsy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2015, 05:16 PM   #5
MEASURE ONCE, CUT TWICE
 
123pugsy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: MARKHAM, ON
Posts: 4,200
Rewards Points: 1,566
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by joed View Post
The only reference I could find in the code relating to wet location receptacles is that they must have a wet location cover. I could not find any reference to wet rated boxes.
Thanks.

That's what I believe we have here as my neighbor had no issues with his.
__________________
Pugsy...my project: http://www.diychatroom.com/f49/total...storey-276978/
123pugsy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2015, 06:12 PM   #6
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Indiana
Posts: 4,498
Rewards Points: 5,252
Default


Use the 3.5" deep boxes. Far easier for installing GFCI's.

Last edited by brric; 11-17-2015 at 06:16 PM.
brric is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to brric For This Useful Post:
123pugsy (11-17-2015), oh'mike (11-17-2015)
Old 11-17-2015, 07:46 PM   #7
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 12,633
Rewards Points: 3,740
Default


The advantage of the box brick linked to is that it is the same height as a brick and the screws are inside the box instead of buried in mortar.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Jim Port For This Useful Post:
123pugsy (11-17-2015)
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Brick veneer over scratch or brown coat? pman6 Concrete, Stone & Masonry 4 01-10-2013 09:14 AM
Brick veneer is 4 rows below grade- redo or leave? cbrc5eric Building & Construction 11 12-27-2011 08:09 PM
another brick veneer problem question rdk4609 Building & Construction 6 06-12-2009 09:46 AM
Anchors & Brick Veneer rjordan392 Building & Construction 9 06-04-2009 04:58 AM
Removing a brick veneer Bayou Woman Building & Construction 6 06-02-2009 05:21 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts