Voltage Between Mobile Home Wiring Neutral And Ground?? - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Display Modes
Old 08-18-2014, 08:16 PM   #1
bg1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Voltage between mobile home wiring neutral and ground??


I am working on wiring in a 1990 mobile home. My plug in receptacle tester showed a few had the hot and neutral reversed so I corrected these but I noticed if I disconnected the neutral wire from the buss bar and tested for voltage between it and ground that there is between 10-120 volts on 5 of 12 circuits. I am using a analog meter and I tested between neutral and ground at the receptacle and also got voltage.When I reconnect the neutral to the buss bar the voltage at the receptacles is correct again. Do I have a separate problem on each circuit or is something crossing over? What causes this? Thanks
bg1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 08-18-2014, 08:31 PM   #2
Super Moderator
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 20,316
Rewards Points: 31,940
Blog Entries: 11
Default


With a neutral wire disconnected 120 volts is normal if there is something on the circuit and turned on. Voltage is passing through the turned on device with no where to go now that you have disconnected the neutral.
Why are you doing this test? It means nothing and can cause severe damage to equipment if you did it to a multi wire circuit.
joed is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to joed For This Useful Post:
Know A Little (08-19-2014), MTN REMODEL LLC (08-19-2014)
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 08-18-2014, 08:54 PM   #3
bg1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default


One of the circuits was giving me trouble and I was trying to narrow it down and that is when I checked for voltage between the disconnected neutral and ground and found voltage. I know its normal to have voltage with something turned on but I've turned everything off as far as I can tell!
bg1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 08-19-2014, 05:18 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Virginia
Posts: 714
Rewards Points: 774
Default


bg - Doing what you did can result in smoke escaping from some of your appliances and this smoke is very hard to capture and return to the appliance. NEVER DO WHAT YOU DID, unless there are no appliances connected.
Know A Little is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2014, 06:00 AM   #5
bg1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default


Yes the appliances were disconnected.
bg1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2014, 06:12 AM   #6
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 5,655
Rewards Points: 2,970
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by bg1 View Post
Yes the appliances were disconnected.
Look, It's obvious you're out of your league on the situation, but please use caution when just removing wires like that, the dangers that exist to the unknowing can be fatal.
stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2014, 06:47 AM   #7
bg1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by Know A Little View Post
bg - Doing what you did can result in smoke escaping from some of your appliances and this smoke is very hard to capture and return to the appliance. NEVER DO WHAT YOU DID, unless there are no appliances connected.
I unplugged the appliances so they would not be on and supplying the voltage back thru the neutral, and as far as the smoke you are talking about I assumed you you meant I could damage the appliances but as I am guessing the part about capturing the smoke and returning it to the appliance is a Joke and if not please explain. Thanks
bg1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2014, 12:22 PM   #8
Member
 
Oso954's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Northern Calif.
Posts: 8,974
Rewards Points: 1,844
Default


It means you let the smoke out (fry the device), you buy a new one. There is no repair.
Oso954 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2014, 01:39 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 156
Rewards Points: 201
Default


It goes back to an old joke that equipment actually depends on magic smoke to work. The "proof" is that once the smoke leaks out, the equipment doesn't work any more. It's a witty way of warning against something you can't undo.
Run and find ou is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2014, 01:58 PM   #10
DIYer/PoleMonkey
 
clw1963's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: So Calif
Posts: 1,280
Rewards Points: 262
Default


Generators lose their magic smoke I believe. Drain the windings sorta thing by crossing wires or burning it up. Then it's useless.
clw1963 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
High Neutral to Ground Voltage, Low Hot to Ground Voltage aaronnoraa Electrical 8 04-21-2014 12:56 AM
Hot appliance due to jumpering receptacle neutral to ground screw justplumducky Electrical 6 07-09-2013 05:52 AM
Power loss carlko Electrical 55 03-12-2011 05:26 PM
Ground rod or not? brotherman Electrical 30 07-15-2008 04:58 PM
Sub Panel Grounding Question. RobertS Electrical 63 02-27-2008 01:50 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts