Using A Dc Fan - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Old 02-18-2010, 10:07 AM   #1
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

using a dc fan


How do you hook up a dc 40 cfm fan to ac current. Do they make a fan with this connection? I want to make a unit to move hot air from the ceiling to the floor thru a box in the corner of the rooms. Ac fans are too big and costly.
wtaylor is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-18-2010, 10:45 AM   #2
nap
You talking to me?
 
nap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: sw mi
Posts: 7,551
Rewards Points: 6,290
Default


well, you need a power inverter to change the AC voltage to DC of the proper voltage needed.

what is the voltage rating of the fan?

and how large of fan (physically) is this?


is it round or square and does that really make a difference to you?
nap is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-18-2010, 01:14 PM   #3
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Reply


Quote:
Originally Posted by nap View Post
well, you need a power inverter to change the ac voltage to dc of the proper voltage needed.

What is the voltage rating of the fan? 5.5 volts

and how large of fan (physically) is this? 3" x 3" square


is it round or square and does that really make a difference to you?
it's a zalman model zm-f1 plus fan
wtaylor is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-18-2010, 01:33 PM   #4
nap
You talking to me?
 
nap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: sw mi
Posts: 7,551
Rewards Points: 6,290
Default


You could use something such as this:

http://www.allelectronics.com/make-a...GULATED/1.html

Not sure of the power requirements of the fan. You might have to source a larger capacity (MA rating).

does your fan have a watt or amp rating on it?
nap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2010, 01:59 PM   #5
Master General ReEngineer
 
Bondo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Chaumont River, Ny.
Posts: 8,710
Rewards Points: 1,494
Default


Ayuh,... There's fans, pretty much Exactly like that 1 which run on 120v AC....
It'll be cheaper to buy the Right fan, than buying something to convert to 12v...
I know these guys have 'em,... Cheap...
Bondo is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2010, 02:07 PM   #6
nap
You talking to me?
 
nap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: sw mi
Posts: 7,551
Rewards Points: 6,290
Default


sure enough. I took a quick look and they have several I saw that would seem to fit the bill and you do not have to buy the power supply.
nap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2010, 02:50 PM   #7
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by nap View Post
sure enough. I took a quick look and they have several I saw that would seem to fit the bill and you do not have to buy the power supply.
Yes they seem to have what I'm looking for. I sent for there catalog.
Shipping is very pricey though.
Thanks for your help
wtaylor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2010, 04:08 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 4,109
Rewards Points: 308
Default


All you need is a small cheap rectifier cube like this pictured below. Estimated cost $4.00. I'm guessing. AC in DC out.
This one is rated for 35 amps. You will not need 35 amps.
Attached Images
 

Last edited by J. V.; 02-18-2010 at 04:12 PM.
J. V. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2010, 06:36 PM   #9
nap
You talking to me?
 
nap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: sw mi
Posts: 7,551
Rewards Points: 6,290
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by J. V. View Post
All you need is a small cheap rectifier cube like this pictured below. Estimated cost $4.00. I'm guessing. AC in DC out.
This one is rated for 35 amps. You will not need 35 amps.

Um, JV,

what about the voltage?


the fan he asked about is 5.5 VDC. You would get a bit more than that if that rectifier is all you put in the line.
nap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2010, 09:12 PM   #10
as seen on tv
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: pa
Posts: 205
Rewards Points: 150
Default


step down xmfer an 4 diodes
qbert is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Top of Page | View New Posts