Use The Junction Box In A Can Light To Pass Through Another Circuit - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Old 09-06-2012, 11:15 AM   #1
Member
 
j_sun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 44
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Use the junction box in a can light to pass through another circuit


Hi All,
I am in the process of putting a new drywall ceiling in my kitchen along with new can lights. While I've had the old ceiling out, I've taken the opportunity to remove all the old knt wiring that I can.

Currently my balcony, which is above the kitchen, has all the new proper wiring dropped down for the receptacles in the room. Problem is that it goes into a junction box where it is tied into the old knt feed circuit. I plan to run a new feed wire up from the basement to replace the knt. I really don't want to have a jb with a cover poking through my ceiling if I don't have to.

My question is can I run the 2x 12/2 wires to the receptacles and the new 12/2 feed wire into one of the junction boxes of a can light to make the connections? They will be on separate breakers.

I am installing Halo H7ICT 6" fixtures. (I can't seem to find the volume of their junction boxes anywhere)

So in the box I will have the following:

3x 12/2 roamex (passthrough to outlets above)
2x 14/2 roamex (feed and out for other cans)
and the fixture pigtail of course

Will this work?

(FYI that it would almost be impossible to make a home run from the panel to the balcony outlets. I dropped the new wiring down when I had my bathroom tore apart a few years back but now have no easy access to that wall cavity.)

Thanks,
Jason
j_sun is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 09-06-2012, 12:36 PM   #2
Super Moderator
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 18,573
Rewards Points: 23,496
Blog Entries: 11
Default


Normally it is no problem to have conductors from different circuits in the same junction box however I don't think the junction box on the can light will be large enough to fit all those cables.
joed is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to joed For This Useful Post:
j_sun (09-06-2012)
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 09-06-2012, 12:43 PM   #3
Member
 
j_sun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 44
Rewards Points: 25
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by joed View Post
....... I don't think the junction box on the can light will be large enough to fit all those cables.
Hi Joed,
As I'm still new to this, can you verify that I would use the following to calculate the box volume requirements for 3x 12/2 + 2x 14/2 + 16g fixture:

6x 12awg wires = 13.5
4x 14 awg wires = 8.0
1x 12 awg ground = 2.25
2x 16 awg fixture wires = 3.5

total volume = 27.25 cu in

Make sense?
j_sun is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 09-06-2012, 01:53 PM   #4
A "Handy Husband"
 
rjniles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Carolina Low Country
Posts: 9,806
Rewards Points: 604
Default


I would use a junction box for the wiring to the receptacles and place that JB immediately above one of the can lights. Install a retrofit (instead of a new work) can in that location that can be removed to access the JB.

Let the beatings begin.

I say this meets the accessibility requirement.
__________________
My electrical answers are based on 2014 NEC, you may have local amendments.

Location: Coastal South Carolina
rjniles is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2012, 10:47 PM   #5
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 5,655
Rewards Points: 2,970
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by rjniles View Post
I would use a junction box for the wiring to the receptacles and place that JB immediately above one of the can lights. Install a retrofit (instead of a new work) can in that location that can be removed to access the JB.

Let the beatings begin.

I say this meets the accessibility requirement.
Of course it does, i've installed j-boxes behind fixed microwaves, is it a *****, sure is... but it is accessible.
stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2012, 06:42 AM   #6
Resi EC
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Kansas
Posts: 480
Rewards Points: 252
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by j_sun View Post
Hi Joed,
As I'm still new to this, can you verify that I would use the following to calculate the box volume requirements for 3x 12/2 + 2x 14/2 + 16g fixture:

6x 12awg wires = 13.5
4x 14 awg wires = 8.0
1x 12 awg ground = 2.25
2x 16 awg fixture wires = 3.5

total volume = 27.25 cu in

Make sense?
Now you can figure the cu in of the junction box on the recessed light.
H x W x D (height, width, depth) = cu in
But, I agree it may not be large enough for your needs.

rjniles option will probably be your best bet, I don't believe it would need to be a re-mod can, as new construction cans housings can be removed to access the J box also
Gac66610 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2012, 09:07 AM   #7
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 12,356
Rewards Points: 3,608
Default


The junction box for the recess will have the number of cables allowed stamped on it. They are not sized the same as device boxes.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2012, 02:12 PM   #8
Super Moderator
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 18,573
Rewards Points: 23,496
Blog Entries: 11
Default


I don't think you count the #16 fixture wires.
Most can light boxes are just big enough for two cables.
joed is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2012, 02:47 PM   #9
Sparky
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Central Florida
Posts: 706
Rewards Points: 510
Default


Most i see are rated for 8 #12's, if memory serves, haven't put up too many can lights recently
Techy is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Installing Light on Round Junction Service Box MegR Electrical 7 07-07-2013 08:31 PM
Circuit Breaker Tripping when I turn on kitchen light fixture hiker23 Electrical 2 02-04-2012 02:30 PM
Arc fault light briefly lit when turning circuit back on... darthsmozers Electrical 26 01-16-2012 10:04 AM
Bathroom light on a gfi circuit Debbo Electrical 1 04-28-2010 09:32 PM
Just for fun Andy in ATL Electrical 56 10-20-2009 09:33 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts