Upgrading Existing Panel By Changing Main. - Electrical - Page 2 - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Old 10-24-2014, 09:23 AM   #16
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 30
Rewards Points: 60
Default


The panel and I are in two different locations at the moment . Perhaps your search engine will have better luck getting it's specs by entering the model # (G2030M61150) then I'm having.
nolife is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 10-24-2014, 10:00 AM   #17
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 30
Rewards Points: 60
Default


Took a closer look at the pic on my phone and discovered the "6" in that number should be a "B".
nolife is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 10-24-2014, 01:21 PM   #18
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Indiana
Posts: 4,442
Rewards Points: 5,140
Default


G2030MB1150 is a 20 space/30 circuit, single phase, 150 amp main breaker panel.
brric is online now   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 10-24-2014, 01:40 PM   #19
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 30
Rewards Points: 60
Default


http://www.kirbyrisk.com/woeb/datash...70_176_194.pdf This pdf file I found seems to say in the general info page that the EQ load center's Aluminum main lugs are rated 100-225 amperes. Am I reading this right?


Can't believe this was a 600$ load center!

Last edited by nolife; 10-24-2014 at 01:43 PM.
nolife is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2014, 02:29 PM   #20
Member
 
Abcanfield's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 42
Rewards Points: 12
Default


Looking at the PDF your posting gives a category heading that list specs for 100 amp to 225 amp panels. I don't see where it specifies that all busses are rated up to 225 amps. Am I looking at this wrong?
Abcanfield is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2014, 03:02 PM   #21
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 2,141
Rewards Points: 3,396
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by nolife View Post


Can't believe this was a 600$ load center!
If everything doesn't work out as your hoping it could be more than that.



It was probably about 200.

For 200 bucks replace the panel.

The other breaker alone is like 180


That's it.

Good luck

Last edited by ritelec; 10-24-2014 at 03:04 PM.
ritelec is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2014, 04:01 PM   #22
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 2,141
Rewards Points: 3,396
Default


Just wanted to clarify.

This is the breaker style I replaced.

The bottom bolts on the bars. The top has 2 jaws per phase that gets a post plugged into that gets a lug around it that gets the wire...

Also sending a link for multiple main breakers...
ritelec is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2014, 04:02 PM   #23
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 2,141
Rewards Points: 3,396
Default


http://w3.usa.siemens.com/powerdistr...01-038-039.pdf
Attached Thumbnails
upgrading existing panel by changing main.-4-stbs.jpg  
ritelec is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2014, 06:11 PM   #24
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 30
Rewards Points: 60
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by ritelec View Post
That's what I'm looking at! But older posts have me wondering is it the Gould main breakers that are bad, or the Siemens panel as whole?
nolife is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2014, 09:25 PM   #25
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 2,512
Rewards Points: 1,832
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by nolife View Post
That's what I'm looking at! But older posts have me wondering is it the Gould main breakers that are bad, or the Siemens panel as whole?

My honest opinion is replace the panel. $600 bucks is a rip off for a load center. The model you have appears to be obsolete so its not entirely certain what will work.
Jump-start is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Jump-start For This Useful Post:
ritelec (10-24-2014)
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
power new 200amp panel as temporary subpanel from existing 100amp main panel CapeCod153 Electrical 4 03-21-2013 09:31 PM
Main Breaker in a Main Lug panel? fulmar2 Electrical 17 01-30-2013 12:16 PM
new sub panel BlueBSH Electrical 11 01-22-2012 09:28 AM
Wiring Size Calculations for New Service CorinthWest Electrical 7 12-07-2010 12:36 PM
changing main panel rustic Electrical 10 01-05-2009 10:35 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts