Upgrading 60a Fuse -> 100a Breaker, Grounding Bx Cable? - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Old 03-17-2010, 05:20 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Upgrading 60a fuse -> 100a breaker, grounding bx cable?


Hello everyone,

I purchased a home built in 1949 and am starting to do upgrades to it. Iíve decided that it would probably be a good idea to start with the electrical.

I had a home inspection done and the inspector noted that all the rooms were open ground, including the kitchen. The cabling is BX style and the house has a 60amp fuse box service.

I would like to upgrade the service to 100amp and Iím hoping I can do this and ground all the plugs in the house without having to rewire it all

My questions are:

- Is it possible to ground the outlets with the current bx style cable or do I have to rewire the entire house? (All the outlets in the house are 2 prong style plugs except the kitchen which has 3 prong plugs (also this is not grounded)

- Is open ground dangerous? Does that essentially mean that the fuse box is not able to monitor the power and trip the fuse should a surge happen?



Thanks for reading, any info is greatly appreciated.
njoel is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-18-2010, 07:43 AM   #2
Just call me Andrew
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Albany, NY
Posts: 2,271
Rewards Points: 1,032
Default


With non grounded outlets, you are still protected against overcurrent. What you're not protected against is a ground fault. Say...the frame of your microwave inadvertently touches a hot wire. If that microwave outlet was grounded, the frame would dump that electricity to the panel and trip the breaker. With it not being grounded, you will get shocked when touching the metallic part of the microwave.

The next best thing is to protect your circuit with GFCI. GFCI would trip as soon as you touched the microwave and ~5 mA went through you instead of the white wire. You still could get shocked, but it wouldn't be as dangerous.
__________________
Andrew

secutanudu is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to secutanudu For This Useful Post:
njoel (03-18-2010)
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-18-2010, 08:22 AM   #3
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Indiana
Posts: 4,411
Rewards Points: 5,078
Default


If the system is installed correctly with correct box connectors, etc., then the armor can be used as the equipment grounding conductor.
brric is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to brric For This Useful Post:
njoel (03-18-2010)
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-18-2010, 03:22 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by secutanudu View Post
With non grounded outlets, you are still protected against overcurrent. What you're not protected against is a ground fault. Say...the frame of your microwave inadvertently touches a hot wire. If that microwave outlet was grounded, the frame would dump that electricity to the panel and trip the breaker. With it not being grounded, you will get shocked when touching the metallic part of the microwave.

The next best thing is to protect your circuit with GFCI. GFCI would trip as soon as you touched the microwave and ~5 mA went through you instead of the white wire. You still could get shocked, but it wouldn't be as dangerous.
Ahh ok thank you very much for this helpful information.

Quote:
Originally Posted by brric View Post
If the system is installed correctly with correct box connectors, etc., then the armor can be used as the equipment grounding conductor.
Perfect, hopefully it was done correctly. Thank you for your reply.
njoel is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
This doesnt seem right. JoulesWinfield Electrical 27 07-26-2009 07:40 PM
Circuit breaker panel - Advice needed justtired Electrical 15 12-13-2007 05:55 AM
Breaker Buzz SkipI Electrical 2 07-13-2007 07:48 PM
upgrading service cable Clutchcargo Electrical 1 06-22-2007 10:04 AM
Grounding Cable Sammy Electrical 18 04-17-2007 08:16 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts