Upgrading To 200 Amp Service - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Old 11-29-2010, 03:54 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 6
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Upgrading to 200 Amp Service


I've never actually done this, so I want to make sure I have all my bases covered. I know that I need to have the power company come out and pull the meter, and install a new one once the new panel is in place and hooked up. The wiring from the meter to the box would also have to be upgraded, right? There's probably only six feet of wire from the meter to the box. What gauge do I need to use?
Thanks
CoreyK is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-29-2010, 04:10 PM   #2
A "Handy Husband"
 
rjniles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Carolina Low Country
Posts: 10,021
Rewards Points: 702
Default


First you will need a permit. Are you allowed to do this work in your locality? You will probably need a new meter socket and mast/wiring up to the weather head. New wiring from the meter to the main panel and probably a new main panel. Based on your question are, you sure this something you can and should do yourself?
__________________
My electrical answers are based on 2014 NEC, you may have local amendments.

Location: Coastal South Carolina
rjniles is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-29-2010, 04:48 PM   #3
Tool Geek
 
PaliBob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Pacific Palisades CA
Posts: 2,590
Rewards Points: 2,160
Default


Also larger cable from the meter to the pole.
Call the power company and get all their requirements including for permits.
.
__________________
Disclaimer
& Stay Safe
.....Bob Lavery
PaliBob is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-29-2010, 05:45 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 120
Rewards Points: 75
Default


I would def say unless ur an electrician, do not do this on ur own. Ur asking for major headaches....
heartlessmcfly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2010, 09:16 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Western Maine
Posts: 201
Rewards Points: 150
Default


The first one of these I did, I had just as many questions, so they aren't automatically a "this will fail" flag. I did as much research as I could on my own, however, so I sounded like I knew a little more when I came to the forums (not this forum, mind you, as I hadn't seen it yet)
emolatur is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2010, 07:15 AM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Michigan, Troy
Posts: 25
Rewards Points: 10
Default


Like all of these guys are saying... I actually did this same project but mine was a underground service feed so I lucked out with the fact that they had already run cable large enough to deliver 200 amps... But to answer your question about wire size coming from the meterbox to the panel the question is Aluminum or Copper which one do you wanna go with?
joshvette001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2010, 07:32 AM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default


1st thing I did was contact the POCO & see if I could upgrade
I was considering 300a service
There are still areas that 200a might be a problem
Also ask them what they install, and what you need to install

2nd contact your Building Dept & see if you are allowed to do the work
Here I was required to have an electrician run the main feed & connect the new meter base & 200 main feed



Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
upgrading service sirsparksalot Electrical 1 10-20-2010 09:29 AM
upgrading to 200 amp service Vikeologist Electrical 10 12-20-2009 06:38 PM
Need opinions on the cost/necessity of upgrading service. Simplemines Electrical 3 10-19-2008 09:41 AM
upgrading service for added garage jakeb Electrical 12 03-29-2008 12:18 PM
upgrading service cable Clutchcargo Electrical 1 06-22-2007 10:04 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts