Under Cabint Lighting? - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Old 09-21-2010, 10:59 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: KS
Posts: 947
Rewards Points: 948
Default

Under Cabint Lighting?


I am getting ready to install a set of 5 under cabinet Xenon puck lights. There is a switch that controls an outlet inside the cabinet that I'm going to be plugging these into. The kit for the puck lights also came with a touch sensor switch that turns them on/off and gives a low, medium and high setting for the lights. To use that, I have to plug the puck's into the supplied 3-way "power strip" plug. They included an extension cord so that all 5 lights can be plugged into the "power strip".

My question, I really don't want to use the extension cord, but obviously, I can't plug all 5 lights into 3 recepticles. So my question is, is there any reason I can't inline splice several of the lights together before their plug?

The wiring for the lights is obviously lamp cord, not sure of gauge, but can find out if necessary. The splice(s) would be made using solder and heat shrink tube. I've attached a picture that should clarify what I'm hoping to do.

Thanks!
Attached Thumbnails
Under Cabint Lighting?-cabinet-lights.jpg  
Master Brian is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 09-21-2010, 11:02 AM   #2
Just call me Andrew
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Albany, NY
Posts: 2,271
Rewards Points: 1,032
Default


It would probably invalidate the UL listing if you splice them together....
__________________
Andrew

secutanudu is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 09-21-2010, 11:13 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: KS
Posts: 947
Rewards Points: 948
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by secutanudu View Post
It would probably invalidate the UL listing if you splice them together....
What happens if it is not? Obviously, not pulling a permit to install cabinet lighting, so no inspector to worry about. I do however want it to be safe!
Master Brian is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 09-21-2010, 11:16 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: KS
Posts: 947
Rewards Points: 948
Default


If it really is safer, I suppose I could use the supplied extension cord. I just hate plugging an extension cord into an extension cord and that's basically what I'd be doing.

Part of the reason I thought about the splice(s) is that, not only would it look cleaner, I would think it would be less clutter inside the cabinet. I relate less clutter as being a bit safer, in that there would be less chance of stuff tangling and causing an issue...

Of course, my thinking may be wrong, which is why I'm asking!

Last edited by Master Brian; 09-21-2010 at 11:19 AM.
Master Brian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2010, 11:17 AM   #5
Just call me Andrew
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Albany, NY
Posts: 2,271
Rewards Points: 1,032
Default


Well the way you have it drawn....the first section of wire has 3 lights on it. usually manufacturers can get away with smaller than normal gauge wiring because it has a known load on it (one puck light, for example). Now that one wire has 3 lights on it...
__________________
Andrew

secutanudu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2010, 11:35 AM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: KS
Posts: 947
Rewards Points: 948
Default


That makes sense.

If this helps, I just looked at the supplied wiring. Each puck has about 6' of wire, I attach the plug after cutting the wire to length. The end of each wire states, "Use only with Portable Cabinet Light Accessory Providing Ten Feet Total Cord Length".

The wire for each puck is 18AWGX26. The extension cord is 16AWG wire.

I do have some 16 guage lamp cord style wire that I could use after each splice. Again right/wrong my thinking is that is the same type and size of wire as the extension cord, I'm just bascially making a more perminant connection vs. having a bulky plug.

I could also eliminate the 3 lights on 1 plug and go with 2 sets of two lights.

Each puck is 20W.
Master Brian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2010, 11:42 AM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: KS
Posts: 947
Rewards Points: 948
Default


Is this diagram any better?
Attached Thumbnails
Under Cabint Lighting?-cabinet-lights1.jpg  
Master Brian is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Lighting Options for a dropped ceiling basement markronz Electrical 11 04-20-2010 02:20 PM
Basement Lighting blaze01 Electrical 1 02-16-2010 11:24 AM
New recessed lighting: Line Voltage vs. low voltage hyunelan2 Electrical 0 10-12-2009 12:25 PM
lighting a covered, enclosed patio (cross-posted in electrical) 1655graff Remodeling 1 11-21-2007 12:45 PM
lighting a covered, enclosed patio 1655graff Electrical 5 11-21-2007 08:06 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts