Under Cabinet Wiring Issue? - Electrical - Page 2 - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Like Tree2Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Old 03-30-2019, 02:22 PM   #16
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Washington, DC area
Posts: 774
Rewards Points: 1,451
Default

Re: Under cabinet wiring issue?


Does the lamp have its own plug?
huesmann is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-30-2019, 02:31 PM   #17
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 364
Rewards Points: 54
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by huesmann View Post
Does the lamp have its own plug?
It used to have a 2-pronged plug until I cut it off.
farmerjohn1324 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-30-2019, 03:02 PM   #18
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 12,321
Rewards Points: 3,592
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by huesmann View Post
I don't really see that as a problem as long as your connection is correct, with an accessible panel.
Despite your view it is now an unlisted fixture and a code violation to use it in a way it was not designed.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-30-2019, 03:32 PM   #19
A "Handy Husband"
 
rjniles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Carolina Low Country
Posts: 9,550
Rewards Points: 432
Default

Re: Under cabinet wiring issue?


Quote:
Originally Posted by huesmann View Post
I don't really see that as a problem as long as your connection is correct, with an accessible panel.
You are giving bad advice. This site encourages code compliant work and this discussion does not comply.

Sent from my RCT6213W22 using Tapatalk
__________________
My electrical answers are based on 2014 NEC, you may have local amendments.

Location: Coastal South Carolina
rjniles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2019, 04:21 PM   #20
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 753
Rewards Points: 1,502
Default

Re: Under cabinet wiring issue?


anything wrong with putting an outlet in the back of a cabinet, getting a replacement male plug, and just plugging it in like itís supposed to be?
ryansdiydad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2019, 05:03 PM   #21
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 1,633
Rewards Points: 2,640
Default

Re: Under cabinet wiring issue?


Quote:
Originally Posted by ryansdiydad View Post
anything wrong with putting an outlet in the back of a cabinet, getting a replacement male plug, and just plugging it in like itís supposed to be?

No, but receptacles in a kitchen must be on a 20a circuit, gfci protected.
LawnGuyLandSparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2019, 12:46 AM   #22
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 364
Rewards Points: 54
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by ryansdiydad View Post
anything wrong with putting an outlet in the back of a cabinet, getting a replacement male plug, and just plugging it in like it’s supposed to be?
I didn't do that because the cord was so long it would have been weird. That's what I would do if I had a shorter cord. It has this weird connector that I've never seen before...
farmerjohn1324 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2019, 12:53 AM   #23
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 364
Rewards Points: 54
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by LawnGuyLandSparky View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by ryansdiydad View Post
anything wrong with putting an outlet in the back of a cabinet, getting a replacement male plug, and just plugging it in like it’s supposed to be?

No, but receptacles in a kitchen must be on a 20a circuit, gfci protected.
Isn't that only if they serve the countertop?
farmerjohn1324 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2019, 03:06 PM   #24
Pro Answers
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Florida
Posts: 72
Rewards Points: 140
Default

Re: Under cabinet wiring issue?


I have used these before when dealing with under kitchen cabinet wiring that is being fed by NM-B 15/20 amp circuit:https://www.amazon.com/GE-39971-Conv...gateway&sr=8-1

Depending on your lighting needs: task vs ambiance there are some simplier solutions like : PUCK battery operated lighting, LED wireless lighting
jmig7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2019, 08:12 PM   #25
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 7
Rewards Points: 14
Default

Re: Under cabinet wiring issue?


I made my own undercabinet lights using 12 volt LED tape strips. I got a dimmer for $4, strips were a few dollars. A power supply in the cellar runs the lights, and a few others around the house. Low voltage wiring connects them.
vandamme is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2019, 10:44 PM   #26
Member
 
samjg1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Upstate NY
Posts: 124
Rewards Points: 248
Default

Re: Under cabinet wiring issue?


Quote:
Originally Posted by jmig7 View Post
I have used these before when dealing with under kitchen cabinet wiring that is being fed by NM-B 15/20 amp circuit:https://www.amazon.com/GE-39971-Conv...gateway&sr=8-1

Depending on your lighting needs: task vs ambiance there are some simplier solutions like : PUCK battery operated lighting, LED wireless lighting
How is that box even legal?
samjg1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2019, 10:16 AM   #27
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Washington, DC area
Posts: 774
Rewards Points: 1,451
Default

Re: Under cabinet wiring issue?


Why wouldn't it be?
huesmann is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2019, 11:41 AM   #28
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 1,633
Rewards Points: 2,640
Default

Re: Under cabinet wiring issue?


Quote:
Originally Posted by jmig7 View Post
I have used these before when dealing with under kitchen cabinet wiring that is being fed by NM-B 15/20 amp circuit:https://www.amazon.com/GE-39971-Conv...gateway&sr=8-1

Depending on your lighting needs: task vs ambiance there are some simplier solutions like : PUCK battery operated lighting, LED wireless lighting

"This junction box only works with GE-branded linkable puck and bar fixtures."
LawnGuyLandSparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Potential Major Wiring Issue for the Experts icandousa Electrical 5 01-18-2017 01:32 PM
Velux skylight wiring issue leerube Electrical 1 05-05-2016 12:55 PM
Adding wiring for under cabinet lights from a three way switch Dale8 Electrical 0 10-07-2012 02:50 PM
Wiring for under cabinet lighting fredm54 Electrical 15 06-16-2012 12:23 PM
GFI wiring issue voless Electrical 4 10-20-2010 01:37 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts