Under Cabinet Lighting? - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 02-03-2010, 12:53 AM   #1

Rewards Points: 648

Under cabinet lighting?

I'm trying to determine the best type of under cabinet lights to put in my kitchen. In the past, I've used hockey puck style halogen lights, which were way too hot and very expensive to run.

For my new home I'm looking for something that gives off a warm light, is dim able, is energy efficient, and relatively easy to install. My cabinetmaker has recently begun using LED lights and really likes them, but I have no experience with LEDs. Any suggestions are much appreciated.

Thanks,
Kelly
kcrossley2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 02-03-2010, 01:10 AM   #2

Rewards Points: 1,016

Agreed halogen pucks get way hot. Fluorescents have been common to do, but the LED's have come down in price and up in light output. I would go LED.
vsheetz is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 02-03-2010, 01:27 AM   #3

Do you have any recommendations for a particular brand or retailer? Are LEDs dimable?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 02-03-2010, 05:12 AM   #4
Too Short? Cut it Again!

Rewards Points: 2,000

Here is one source for dimmable LED halogen replacement bulbs that might work for you? I think the problem you are going to find with LEDs is that "bulbs" still have to be fairly large to hold enough of an LED array to provide any light. However, I have seen florescent tube type LED arrays that look promising. They might be low profile enough for under counter use if they come in small tubes?