Unconnected Cable- Code Problem? - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Old 06-02-2010, 06:28 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: northern NJ
Posts: 82
Rewards Points: 97
Default

unconnected cable- code problem?


in my quest to improve the wiring, i needed to rerun a new cable from an outlet to a new switch location. that turned to be easy...now the problem is the old cable that i have to leave behind, albeit un-connected at both ends. obviously the cable is stapled to 2x4s.

so- is there any code violation if i leave unconnected (at both ends) cable behind sheetrock?

thanks
drgkjd is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-02-2010, 06:55 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 17,158
Rewards Points: 6,652
Default


As long as both ends are taped, and not in the box to be able to be reconnected at either end.



gregzoll is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to gregzoll For This Useful Post:
drgkjd (06-03-2010)
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Carrier 58MXA Code 31 Problem MikeZ HVAC 8 01-12-2010 06:32 AM
Protect Cat6 cable near AC Power Cable? mfleming Electrical 5 10-31-2008 09:04 AM
No Signal From Tv Cable LJMSURG Electrical 17 10-11-2008 08:00 AM
is stapling cable to beams/studs a code req ? amakarevic Electrical 11 07-03-2008 08:42 AM
Transformer Help chcustom Electrical 28 12-10-2007 10:40 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts