Two Switches Plus An Outlet? - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Old 12-03-2009, 01:24 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 61
Rewards Points: 79
Default

Two switches plus an outlet?


In my bathroom I currently have a switch (controls the exhaust fan) and GFCI outlet combo. I'd like to replace the exhaust fan with a fan/heat lamp combo, but the fan/heat lamp would need two switches. I can't put in a wider box due to some obstructions -- do they make a 2-switch/GFCI outlet combo for a standard-size box?
thebigsee is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-03-2009, 01:36 PM   #2
Member
 
300zx's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 630
Rewards Points: 500
Post


I have not seen one with 2 switches.Can you put a cut-in box above or below the switch you have now? The only GFCI with a switch i have seen has been a single switch on a GFCI
300zx is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-03-2009, 02:11 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 9
Rewards Points: 18
Default


ok, I'm no expert here, but I believe a gfci protects downstream outlets on the same circuit. If so, depending on your circuit, you may be able to locate the gfci at an outlet upstream from your bathroom outlet. Then you are just left searching for a 2 switch outlet combo (no gfci because it is taken care of upstream) which might be easier to find.
markinmich is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-03-2009, 02:38 PM   #4
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 8,437
Rewards Points: 6,444
Default


If you are adding a heat lamp, chances are it calls for a dedicated circuit.
__________________
Yes I am a pirate, two hundred years too late
The cannons don't thunder, there's nothing to plunder
I'm an over-forty victim of fate.
jbfan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2009, 03:45 PM   #5
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 12,652
Rewards Points: 3,742
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by jbfan View Post
If you are adding a heat lamp, chances are it calls for a dedicated circuit.
IIRC the bulbs are like 250 watts apiece. This would be adding over 4 amps to whatever else is already on the circuit. This may cause the breaker to trip while using a blow dryer or curling iron.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2009, 05:33 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 61
Rewards Points: 79
Default


I think it's a good point about a dedicated circuit for the heat lamp/exhaust fan -- I'll hire an electrician for this one, probably will just convert the switch/outlet combo to two outlets and then put two switches on its own circuit above it.
thebigsee is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wiring a GFCI Outdoor Outlet from an Inside Outlet - Parallel or Series? Pacal Electrical 28 11-13-2010 03:36 PM
Power through outlet to two single pole switches aaronmoon Electrical 2 08-12-2009 08:29 AM
adding outlet from light switch tad Electrical 17 06-05-2009 11:25 PM
One outlet four switches SoonerMike Electrical 8 01-08-2009 05:37 AM
Dead outlet and switches on otherwise live circuit viking1974 Electrical 4 08-23-2007 05:30 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts